commons-rng.git
4 weeks agoFix download page template. master
Gilles Sadowski [Wed, 19 Dec 2018 15:01:31 +0000 (16:01 +0100)] 
Fix download page template.

sha1 is deprecated (Apache policy).

5 weeks agoINFRA-17382: Repository (going to be) moved to "gitbox".
Gilles [Wed, 12 Dec 2018 15:11:51 +0000 (16:11 +0100)] 
INFRA-17382: Repository (going to be) moved to "gitbox".

5 weeks agoDocumentation (release howto).
Gilles [Wed, 12 Dec 2018 13:05:48 +0000 (14:05 +0100)] 
Documentation (release howto).

5 weeks agoVersion 1.2 has been released: Adjust for next round of development.
Gilles [Wed, 12 Dec 2018 12:54:49 +0000 (13:54 +0100)] 
Version 1.2 has been released: Adjust for next round of development.

5 weeks agoJavadoc.
Gilles [Tue, 11 Dec 2018 16:07:46 +0000 (17:07 +0100)] 
Javadoc.

6 weeks agoTypo (userguide).
Gilles [Mon, 10 Dec 2018 11:32:36 +0000 (12:32 +0100)] 
Typo (userguide).

Thanks to Alex Herbert for spotting it in RC2 review.

6 weeks agoAdd missing file.
Gilles [Wed, 5 Dec 2018 11:32:03 +0000 (12:32 +0100)] 
Add missing file.

Thanks to Alex Herbert for pointing it out in RC1 review.

6 weeks agoProfile-triggering files to enable Clirr from CP POM.
Gilles [Sun, 2 Dec 2018 12:04:43 +0000 (13:04 +0100)] 
Profile-triggering files to enable Clirr from CP POM.

6 weeks agoRemove redundant or problematic configurations.
Gilles [Sun, 2 Dec 2018 12:03:00 +0000 (13:03 +0100)] 
Remove redundant or problematic configurations.

6 weeks agoPreparing v1.2 release.
Gilles [Sun, 2 Dec 2018 22:20:21 +0000 (23:20 +0100)] 
Preparing v1.2 release.

6 weeks agoRelease candidate.
Gilles [Sun, 2 Dec 2018 23:37:05 +0000 (00:37 +0100)] 
Release candidate.

6 weeks agoIntroduce property for changing the JVM used to run the benchmarks.
Gilles [Tue, 4 Dec 2018 22:23:49 +0000 (23:23 +0100)] 
Introduce property for changing the JVM used to run the benchmarks.

6 weeks agoUpdate benchmark (user guide).
Gilles [Wed, 5 Dec 2018 11:08:55 +0000 (12:08 +0100)] 
Update benchmark (user guide).

Previous results were from a run performed on Java 10.

6 weeks agoTypo (javadoc).
Gilles [Thu, 6 Dec 2018 11:14:15 +0000 (12:14 +0100)] 
Typo (javadoc).

6 weeks agoFix documentation (release process).
Gilles [Thu, 6 Dec 2018 13:10:20 +0000 (14:10 +0100)] 
Fix documentation (release process).

7 weeks agoUpdate next version number.
Gilles [Fri, 30 Nov 2018 15:32:11 +0000 (16:32 +0100)] 
Update next version number.

7 weeks agoNew reporting utility (API change checker).
Gilles [Wed, 28 Nov 2018 11:19:25 +0000 (12:19 +0100)] 
New reporting utility (API change checker).

7 weeks agoRNG-63: Deprecate obsolete methods.
Gilles [Tue, 27 Nov 2018 13:14:43 +0000 (14:14 +0100)] 
RNG-63: Deprecate obsolete methods.

8 weeks agoTrack changes.
Gilles [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 15:12:46 +0000 (16:12 +0100)] 
Track changes.

8 weeks agoMerge branch 'RNG-64__alex'
Gilles [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 14:40:51 +0000 (15:40 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'RNG-64__alex'

Closes #16

8 weeks agoJavadoc.
Gilles [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 14:39:57 +0000 (15:39 +0100)] 
Javadoc.

8 weeks agoRNG-64: Created SubsetSampler utility class
Alex Herbert [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 12:51:13 +0000 (12:51 +0000)] 
RNG-64: Created SubsetSampler utility class

Move shared code from the PermutationSampler and CombinationSampler to
the utility class.

Test the PermutationSampler with k < n.

8 weeks agoMerge branch 'feature_RNG-62'
Gilles [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 11:38:28 +0000 (12:38 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'feature_RNG-62'

Closes #15

8 weeks agoError message formatting (unit test).
Gilles [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 11:37:26 +0000 (12:37 +0100)] 
Error message formatting (unit test).

8 weeks agoTrack changes.
Gilles [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 11:04:44 +0000 (12:04 +0100)] 
Track changes.

8 weeks agoMerge branch 'feature-RNG-62' of https://github.com/aherbert/commons-rng into feature...
Gilles [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 10:45:52 +0000 (11:45 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'feature-RNG-62' of https://github.com/aherbert/commons-rng into feature_RNG-62

8 weeks agoRNG-62: Removed getK and getN methods 15/head
Alex Herbert [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 09:32:23 +0000 (09:32 +0000)] 
RNG-62: Removed getK and getN methods

8 weeks agoRNG-62: Added a CombinationSampler
Alex Herbert [Wed, 21 Nov 2018 15:15:28 +0000 (15:15 +0000)] 
RNG-62: Added a CombinationSampler

Complements the PermutationSampler as the sample order is C(n, k) rather
than P(n, k). Can be used for faster subset sampling if the subset order
is not important.

8 weeks agoUpdate benchmarks (user guide).
Gilles [Thu, 22 Nov 2018 14:15:44 +0000 (15:15 +0100)] 
Update benchmarks (user guide).

2 months agoRNG-62: Added a CombinationSampler
Alex Herbert [Wed, 21 Nov 2018 15:15:28 +0000 (15:15 +0000)] 
RNG-62: Added a CombinationSampler

Complements the PermutationSampler as the sample order is C(n, k) rather
than P(n, k). Can be used for faster subset sampling if the subset order
is not important.

2 months agoMerge branch 'fix-jmh-java-version-1.7-compliance' of https://github.com/aherbert...
Gilles [Tue, 20 Nov 2018 21:15:08 +0000 (22:15 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'fix-jmh-java-version-1.7-compliance' of https://github.com/aherbert/commons-rng

Closes #14.

2 months agoStress suites results updated (user guide).
Gilles [Tue, 20 Nov 2018 21:08:30 +0000 (22:08 +0100)] 
Stress suites results updated (user guide).

Runs performed with code that implements RNG-57.

2 months agofix: removed 1.8 annotation to ensure 1.7 compliance 14/head
aherbert [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 15:11:59 +0000 (15:11 +0000)] 
fix: removed 1.8 annotation to ensure 1.7 compliance

2 months agoTrack changes.
Gilles [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 11:52:29 +0000 (12:52 +0100)] 
Track changes.

2 months agoMerge branch 'RNG-61__alex'
Gilles [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 11:44:31 +0000 (12:44 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'RNG-61__alex'

Closes #13

2 months agoRNG-61: Remove unnecessary conditional from inside shuffle loop
Alex Herbert [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 08:54:17 +0000 (08:54 +0000)] 
RNG-61: Remove unnecessary conditional from inside shuffle loop

2 months agoTrack changes.
Gilles [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 11:20:30 +0000 (12:20 +0100)] 
Track changes.

2 months agoRemove commented out, obsolete, code (unit test).
Gilles [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 11:17:21 +0000 (12:17 +0100)] 
Remove commented out, obsolete, code (unit test).

2 months agoMerge branch 'RNG-57__alex'
Gilles [Sat, 17 Nov 2018 00:45:25 +0000 (01:45 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'RNG-57__alex'

Closes #12

2 months agoRNG-57: Cache values for provision of nextBoolean and nextInt 12/head
aherbert [Fri, 16 Nov 2018 13:10:51 +0000 (13:10 +0000)] 
RNG-57: Cache values for provision of nextBoolean and nextInt

2 months agoRNG-60: Use random seeds (unit test).
Gilles [Fri, 16 Nov 2018 02:17:59 +0000 (03:17 +0100)] 
RNG-60: Use random seeds (unit test).

By using random seeds, it is expected that the unit tests will fail
with some probability; Junit is thus configured to rerun such a test,
marking it as "flaky" when it succeeds within the allotted number of
retries), and letting the build pass.

2 months agoRNG-52: Conservative upper bound to avoid silent truncation.
Gilles [Thu, 15 Nov 2018 16:33:56 +0000 (17:33 +0100)] 
RNG-52: Conservative upper bound to avoid silent truncation.

Functionality is not limited since the Poisson distribution is already
well approximated by a Gaussian for mean values larger than about 1000.

2 months agoRNG-59: Ensure seed diversity.
Gilles [Thu, 25 Oct 2018 15:20:34 +0000 (17:20 +0200)] 
RNG-59: Ensure seed diversity.

2 months agoSpurious line.
Gilles [Thu, 25 Oct 2018 13:56:16 +0000 (15:56 +0200)] 
Spurious line.

3 months agoKeep track of changes.
Gilles [Fri, 5 Oct 2018 21:15:02 +0000 (23:15 +0200)] 
Keep track of changes.

3 months agoRNG-57: Fix parameters order.
Gilles [Fri, 5 Oct 2018 21:13:00 +0000 (23:13 +0200)] 
RNG-57: Fix parameters order.

Thanks to Alex Herbert for reviewing the code and spotting the inconsistency.

3 months agoRNG-58: Check is unnecessary.
Gilles [Thu, 4 Oct 2018 23:01:30 +0000 (01:01 +0200)] 
RNG-58: Check is unnecessary.

By convention, "no state" is represented by a zero-size array.

3 months agoNo need to skip the test.
Gilles [Thu, 4 Oct 2018 22:40:43 +0000 (00:40 +0200)] 
No need to skip the test.

3 months agoRNG-58: Allow state to be stored at all levels of the class hierarchy.
Gilles [Thu, 4 Oct 2018 22:15:51 +0000 (00:15 +0200)] 
RNG-58: Allow state to be stored at all levels of the class hierarchy.

3 months agoTrack changes.
Gilles [Sat, 22 Sep 2018 18:22:56 +0000 (20:22 +0200)] 
Track changes.

3 months agoMerge branch 'GEOMETRY-51__alex'
Gilles [Sat, 22 Sep 2018 17:36:45 +0000 (19:36 +0200)] 
Merge branch 'GEOMETRY-51__alex'

Closes #10

3 months agoFormatting nit.
Gilles [Sat, 22 Sep 2018 17:35:43 +0000 (19:35 +0200)] 
Formatting nit.

4 months agoRNG-51: Updated for 1.2-SNAPSHOT 10/head
aherbert [Fri, 21 Sep 2018 14:11:45 +0000 (15:11 +0100)] 
RNG-51: Updated for 1.2-SNAPSHOT

4 months agoMerge branch 'master' of git://github.com/apache/commons-rng into improvement-RNG-51
aherbert [Fri, 21 Sep 2018 13:55:37 +0000 (14:55 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'master' of git://github.com/apache/commons-rng into improvement-RNG-51

4 months agoRNG-51: Added JMH performance test
aherbert [Fri, 21 Sep 2018 13:52:16 +0000 (14:52 +0100)] 
RNG-51: Added JMH performance test

4 months agoRNG-51: The LargeMeanPoissonSamplerState should be final
Alex Herbert [Fri, 21 Sep 2018 00:03:19 +0000 (01:03 +0100)] 
RNG-51: The LargeMeanPoissonSamplerState should be final

4 months agoRNG-51: Changed representation of LargeMeanPoissonSampler state
Alex Herbert [Thu, 20 Sep 2018 23:56:19 +0000 (00:56 +0100)] 
RNG-51: Changed representation of LargeMeanPoissonSampler state

4 months agoRNG-51: Added a PoissonSamplerCache for the large mean algorithm
Alex Herbert [Thu, 20 Sep 2018 22:17:36 +0000 (23:17 +0100)] 
RNG-51: Added a PoissonSamplerCache for the large mean algorithm

4 months agoDuplicate code.
Gilles [Tue, 4 Sep 2018 22:59:20 +0000 (00:59 +0200)] 
Duplicate code.

4 months agoAdapt to current version.
Gilles [Mon, 27 Aug 2018 18:16:59 +0000 (20:16 +0200)] 
Adapt to current version.

4 months agoMerge branch 'master' of https://git-wip-us.apache.org/repos/asf/commons-rng
Gilles [Fri, 24 Aug 2018 16:24:04 +0000 (18:24 +0200)] 
Merge branch 'master' of https://git-wip-us.apache.org/repos/asf/commons-rng

4 months agoRNG-56: Missing statements in least used branch entail infinite loop.
Gilles [Fri, 24 Aug 2018 16:11:57 +0000 (18:11 +0200)] 
RNG-56: Missing statements in least used branch entail infinite loop.

Loop was replaced by recursion that would raise "StackOverFlow" error,
rather than run forever in case of a bad RNG implementation.

5 months agoBetter release notes read
Rob Tompkins [Fri, 17 Aug 2018 13:05:35 +0000 (09:05 -0400)] 
Better release notes read

5 months agoRNG-55: Forbid negative dimension.
Gilles [Thu, 16 Aug 2018 12:52:00 +0000 (14:52 +0200)] 
RNG-55: Forbid negative dimension.

5 months agoRNG-55: Check for zero norm.
Gilles [Thu, 16 Aug 2018 12:44:56 +0000 (14:44 +0200)] 
RNG-55: Check for zero norm.

5 months agoNumber of rerun set to 1 in sampling tests.
Gilles [Thu, 16 Aug 2018 12:23:47 +0000 (14:23 +0200)] 
Number of rerun set to 1 in sampling tests.

Reinstates commit 2a31d8764facb77c8a3c301b0613078df8c93d13.

5 months agoProject team.
Gilles [Wed, 15 Aug 2018 22:43:26 +0000 (00:43 +0200)] 
Project team.

5 months agoAdding back 1.2 to changes.xml, merging around removed it
Rob Tompkins [Tue, 14 Aug 2018 13:38:20 +0000 (09:38 -0400)] 
Adding back 1.2 to changes.xml, merging around removed it

5 months agoMerge branch '1.1'
Rob Tompkins [Tue, 14 Aug 2018 13:22:29 +0000 (09:22 -0400)] 
Merge branch '1.1'

5 months ago1.1 -> 1.2-SNAPSHOT
Rob Tompkins [Tue, 14 Aug 2018 13:21:50 +0000 (09:21 -0400)] 
1.1 -> 1.2-SNAPSHOT

5 months agoUpdates for publishing the site
Rob Tompkins [Tue, 14 Aug 2018 12:21:48 +0000 (08:21 -0400)] 
Updates for publishing the site

5 months agoJavadoc.
Gilles [Sat, 11 Aug 2018 03:30:48 +0000 (05:30 +0200)] 
Javadoc.

5 months agoTabs.
Gilles [Sat, 11 Aug 2018 03:17:09 +0000 (05:17 +0200)] 
Tabs.

5 months agoPreparing 1.1 RC7 1.1 RNG_1_1 RNG_1_1_RC7
Rob Tompkins [Sat, 11 Aug 2018 01:00:42 +0000 (21:00 -0400)] 
Preparing 1.1 RC7

5 months agoMerge branch 'master' of https://git-wip-us.apache.org/repos/asf/commons-rng into 1.1
Rob Tompkins [Fri, 10 Aug 2018 14:13:25 +0000 (10:13 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of https://git-wip-us.apache.org/repos/asf/commons-rng into 1.1

5 months agoRNG-53: Deprecate class "SamplerBase".
Gilles [Fri, 10 Aug 2018 13:32:05 +0000 (15:32 +0200)] 
RNG-53: Deprecate class "SamplerBase".

5 months agoRevert "Adding PoissonSampler deprecations. Use the correct faster public methods"
Rob Tompkins [Thu, 9 Aug 2018 12:44:45 +0000 (08:44 -0400)] 
Revert "Adding PoissonSampler deprecations. Use the correct faster public methods"

This reverts commit f8159f28a52197d0e7b55e39b115702147cf57a0.

5 months agoAdding PoissonSampler deprecations. Use the correct faster public methods
Rob Tompkins [Wed, 8 Aug 2018 16:42:45 +0000 (12:42 -0400)] 
Adding PoissonSampler deprecations. Use the correct faster public methods

5 months agoReinstate base class to avoid BC breaking.
Gilles [Wed, 8 Aug 2018 11:13:47 +0000 (13:13 +0200)] 
Reinstate base class to avoid BC breaking.

5 months agoReinstate base class to avoid BC breaking.
Gilles [Wed, 8 Aug 2018 11:13:47 +0000 (13:13 +0200)] 
Reinstate base class to avoid BC breaking.

5 months agoRC5 -> RC6 RNG_1_1_RC6
Rob Tompkins [Tue, 7 Aug 2018 12:14:07 +0000 (08:14 -0400)] 
RC5 -> RC6

5 months agoRELEASE-NOTES.txt, changes to add RNG-50, and make minor edits
Rob Tompkins [Mon, 6 Aug 2018 12:28:29 +0000 (08:28 -0400)] 
RELEASE-NOTES.txt, changes to add RNG-50, and make minor edits

5 months agoMerge in master
Rob Tompkins [Mon, 6 Aug 2018 12:16:21 +0000 (08:16 -0400)] 
Merge in master

5 months agoAllow 1 failure in sampling tests.
Gilles [Sat, 4 Aug 2018 18:40:12 +0000 (20:40 +0200)] 
Allow 1 failure in sampling tests.

Thanks to Rob for finding out about this trick.

5 months agoRNG-50 will make it into version 1.1.
Gilles [Sat, 4 Aug 2018 18:39:19 +0000 (20:39 +0200)] 
RNG-50 will make it into version 1.1.

5 months agoNit.
Gilles [Sat, 4 Aug 2018 17:20:21 +0000 (19:20 +0200)] 
Nit.

5 months agoMerge branch 'RNG-50__alex'
Gilles [Thu, 2 Aug 2018 12:44:04 +0000 (14:44 +0200)] 
Merge branch 'RNG-50__alex'

Closes #8

5 months agoMake field "private".
Gilles [Thu, 2 Aug 2018 11:44:26 +0000 (13:44 +0200)] 
Make field "private".

5 months agoTrack changes.
Gilles [Thu, 2 Aug 2018 10:19:43 +0000 (12:19 +0200)] 
Track changes.

5 months agoMerge branch 'master' into RNG-50__alex
Gilles [Thu, 2 Aug 2018 08:49:08 +0000 (10:49 +0200)] 
Merge branch 'master' into RNG-50__alex

5 months agosite download_rng.xml md5->sha256 RNG_1_1_RC5
Rob Tompkins [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 16:02:41 +0000 (12:02 -0400)] 
site download_rng.xml md5->sha256

5 months agocommons-rng-1.1-RC4 -> RC5
Rob Tompkins [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 12:30:38 +0000 (08:30 -0400)] 
commons-rng-1.1-RC4 -> RC5

5 months agoRNG-50: PoissonSampler speed improvements 8/head
aherbert [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 11:40:04 +0000 (12:40 +0100)] 
RNG-50: PoissonSampler speed improvements

Fixed checkstyle errors

5 months agoRNG-50: PoissonSampler speed improvements
aherbert [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 11:09:28 +0000 (12:09 +0100)] 
RNG-50: PoissonSampler speed improvements

The algorithms for small mean and large mean have been separated into
dedicated classes. Caching of constants used in the algorithm has been
used to increase speed.

5 months agoUpdate prospective release date (and other minor changes).
Gilles [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 10:06:05 +0000 (12:06 +0200)] 
Update prospective release date (and other minor changes).

5 months agoUpdate prospective release date (and other minor changes).
Gilles [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 10:06:05 +0000 (12:06 +0200)] 
Update prospective release date (and other minor changes).

5 months agoAdd license text.
Gilles [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 09:26:11 +0000 (11:26 +0200)] 
Add license text.

5 months agoAdd license text.
Gilles [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 09:26:11 +0000 (11:26 +0200)] 
Add license text.

5 months agoEnsure that build works on 6, and -Pcommons-rng-examples has depenendencies RNG_1_1_RC4
Rob Tompkins [Tue, 31 Jul 2018 14:36:41 +0000 (10:36 -0400)] 
Ensure that build works on 6, and -Pcommons-rng-examples has depenendencies

5 months agoUpdate to RC4
Rob Tompkins [Tue, 31 Jul 2018 14:10:17 +0000 (10:10 -0400)] 
Update to RC4