couchdb-documentation.git
5 years agoMerge pull request #54 from shimaore/patch-1
Joan Touzet [Mon, 20 Mar 2017 03:19:35 +0000 (23:19 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #54 from shimaore/patch-1

Use the proper location for `require` example

5 years agoMerge pull request #20 from BigBlueHat/explain-provides
Joan Touzet [Mon, 20 Mar 2017 03:07:32 +0000 (23:07 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #20 from BigBlueHat/explain-provides

Clarify provides() usage in _list function

5 years agono, you can't use emit() in a list function.
Joan Touzet [Mon, 20 Mar 2017 03:06:15 +0000 (23:06 -0400)] 
no, you can't use emit() in a list function.

5 years agoMerge pull request #115 from flimzy/dbupdates
Joan Touzet [Mon, 20 Mar 2017 03:04:04 +0000 (23:04 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #115 from flimzy/dbupdates

Update _db_updates documentation for CouchDB 2.0.0

5 years agoMerge pull request #116 from apache/3329-kill-pdf-texinfo
Joan Touzet [Sun, 19 Mar 2017 23:48:22 +0000 (19:48 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #116 from apache/3329-kill-pdf-texinfo

Remove pdf and info builds from default target

5 years agoDocument deletion approach when using filtered replication
Joan Touzet [Sun, 19 Mar 2017 22:41:32 +0000 (18:41 -0400)] 
Document deletion approach when using filtered replication

Addresses PR #92 and COUCHDB-1893.

5 years agoClarify download link is for docs only
Joan Touzet [Sun, 19 Mar 2017 22:12:41 +0000 (18:12 -0400)] 
Clarify download link is for docs only

5 years agoRemove pdf and info builds from default target 116/head
Joan Touzet [Sun, 19 Mar 2017 06:37:18 +0000 (02:37 -0400)] 
Remove pdf and info builds from default target

5 years agoUpdate _db_updates documentation for CouchDB 2.0.0 115/head
Jonathan Hall [Sat, 18 Mar 2017 19:00:36 +0000 (20:00 +0100)] 
Update _db_updates documentation for CouchDB 2.0.0

5 years agoBring back the correct implementation of max_document_size
Nick Vatamaniuc [Thu, 16 Mar 2017 04:07:02 +0000 (00:07 -0400)] 
Bring back the correct implementation of max_document_size

COUCHDB-2992

5 years agoCorrect response code from /_uuids
Joan Touzet [Fri, 17 Mar 2017 21:29:21 +0000 (17:29 -0400)] 
Correct response code from /_uuids

5 years agoFlesh out the documentation for POST /{db}/_all_docs
Jonathan Hall [Thu, 16 Mar 2017 09:22:28 +0000 (10:22 +0100)] 
Flesh out the documentation for POST /{db}/_all_docs

5 years agoRemove /_log references from the documentation.
Jonathan Hall [Wed, 15 Mar 2017 09:17:11 +0000 (10:17 +0100)] 
Remove /_log references from the documentation.

And add its removal to the whatsnew document.

5 years agoMention /_config move in Whatsnew document
Jonathan Hall [Wed, 15 Mar 2017 09:22:20 +0000 (10:22 +0100)] 
Mention /_config move in Whatsnew document

5 years agoUpdate config examples and other references
Jonathan Hall [Wed, 15 Mar 2017 09:11:10 +0000 (10:11 +0100)] 
Update config examples and other references

5 years agoUpdate _config endpoint documentation to reflect new location
Jonathan Hall [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 19:41:14 +0000 (20:41 +0100)] 
Update _config endpoint documentation to reflect new location

5 years agoRender new options with more emphasis
Jonathan Hall [Thu, 16 Mar 2017 07:47:24 +0000 (08:47 +0100)] 
Render new options with more emphasis

5 years agoFix typo in option
Nick Vatamaniuc [Thu, 16 Mar 2017 03:18:57 +0000 (23:18 -0400)] 
Fix typo in option

5 years agoExpand logging config documentation to include writer-specific parameters.
Jonathan Hall [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 20:52:27 +0000 (21:52 +0100)] 
Expand logging config documentation to include writer-specific parameters.

5 years agoAdd additional logging levels
Jonathan Hall [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 20:38:46 +0000 (21:38 +0100)] 
Add additional logging levels

I'm unsure of proper descriptions, however, so I've left those blank.

5 years agoUpdate logging references in _config section
Jonathan Hall [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 19:36:46 +0000 (20:36 +0100)] 
Update logging references in _config section

5 years agoFix a typo in the markup
Jonathan Hall [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 19:18:15 +0000 (20:18 +0100)] 
Fix a typo in the markup

5 years agoDocument the log.writer option
Jonathan Hall [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 18:53:12 +0000 (19:53 +0100)] 
Document the log.writer option

I adapted the description from that found in the default.ini.

5 years agoUpdate description of GET /{db}/ response fields
Jonathan Hall [Wed, 15 Mar 2017 16:55:24 +0000 (17:55 +0100)] 
Update description of GET /{db}/ response fields

5 years agoUpdate references to `update_seq` to no longer claim it's always a number.
Jonathan Hall [Sat, 4 Mar 2017 10:31:58 +0000 (11:31 +0100)] 
Update references to `update_seq` to no longer claim it's always a number.

In response to the CouchDB 2.0 changes detailed here: http://docs.couchdb.org/en/master/whatsnew/2.0.html#upgrade-notes

5 years agoClarify use of 'rev' query parameter in document PUT
Jonathan Hall [Thu, 9 Mar 2017 10:57:34 +0000 (11:57 +0100)] 
Clarify use of 'rev' query parameter in document PUT

The previous version mentions 'If-Match' as an "alternative to rev query
parameter", but doesn't mention the rev query parameter. This fixes that
discrepency, and further elaborates on how the rev parameter is used and
when it is necessary.

5 years agoMerge pull request #107 from flimzy/deletesession
Nick Vatamaniuc [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 15:47:58 +0000 (11:47 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #107 from flimzy/deletesession

Documentation updates for DELETE /_session

5 years agoExpand documentation for DELETE /_session 107/head
Jonathan Hall [Sun, 12 Mar 2017 18:09:53 +0000 (19:09 +0100)] 
Expand documentation for DELETE /_session

5 years agoDELETE /_session never returns 401
Jonathan Hall [Sun, 12 Mar 2017 18:07:23 +0000 (19:07 +0100)] 
DELETE /_session never returns 401

Extensive testing in both CouchDB 2.0.0 and 1.6.1 shows that DELETE
/_session only ever returns 200, even when there is no session, an expired
session, or an invalid session cookie.

5 years agoMerge branch 'update-max-http-request-size'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 16:03:30 +0000 (11:03 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'update-max-http-request-size'

Closes #105

5 years agoAdd documentation for the new `max_http_request_size` parameter 105/head
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 15:24:12 +0000 (10:24 -0500)] 
Add documentation for the new `max_http_request_size` parameter

COUCHDB-2992

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/91'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 02:48:25 +0000 (21:48 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'pr/91'

Closes #91

5 years agoIndent shell line so it renderes correctly
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 02:45:12 +0000 (21:45 -0500)] 
Indent shell line so it renderes correctly

5 years agoclarify $db/_security section
Robert Kowalski [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 02:08:08 +0000 (03:08 +0100)] 
clarify $db/_security section

 - point out that values are optional
 - add curl example
 - language fixes

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/104'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 02:15:28 +0000 (21:15 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'pr/104'

Closes #104

5 years agoShorten line to make linter happy
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 02:15:11 +0000 (21:15 -0500)] 
Shorten line to make linter happy

5 years agoFix description of delayed_commits
Jonathan Hall [Tue, 7 Mar 2017 10:35:26 +0000 (11:35 +0100)] 
Fix description of delayed_commits

- Fix spelling and grammar
- Reword to be less awkward.

5 years agoFix the config option name and descriptions
Jonathan Hall [Mon, 6 Mar 2017 09:59:47 +0000 (10:59 +0100)] 
Fix the config option name and descriptions

- Re-word description of X-Auth-CouchDB-Roles header to be less awkward.  As
  previously worded, it was a list of N items with a single comma, which
  clearly makes no sense.  I reworded it to be less ambiguously a
  comma-separated listed.
- <force token to be required> was formatted as a config option.  Instead, I
  reworded the description to use the acutal config option,
  <proxy_use_secret>,
- Reword description of X-Auth-CouchDB-Token to make it clear that the
  header itself is not optional, but rather that the config option requiring
  it is optional.

5 years agoRemove redundancy
Jonathan Hall [Sat, 4 Mar 2017 10:40:54 +0000 (11:40 +0100)] 
Remove redundancy

5 years agoGrammar improvements
Jonathan Hall [Sat, 25 Feb 2017 18:18:10 +0000 (19:18 +0100)] 
Grammar improvements

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/98'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 02:06:40 +0000 (21:06 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'pr/98'

Closes #98

5 years agoRemove extra empty line to pass make check
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 02:06:20 +0000 (21:06 -0500)] 
Remove extra empty line to pass make check

5 years agoAdd erlang-reltool dependency to RHEL/CentOS with warning.
Lars Goldschlager [Thu, 19 Jan 2017 14:50:12 +0000 (10:50 -0400)] 
Add erlang-reltool dependency to RHEL/CentOS with warning.

On RHEL/CentOS erlang-reltool must be installed manually, but it
pulls in many dependencies including X11 libraries, so the dep was
added in a separate step with a warning regarding it's need and deps
and suggesting it be installed in a separate step so that the whole
list of packages can be uninstalled after build using a system tool.

5 years agogcc-c++ required for Jiffy
Lars Goldschlager [Thu, 19 Jan 2017 14:40:07 +0000 (10:40 -0400)] 
gcc-c++ required for Jiffy

To build Jiffy (which is part of the basic release build) in
CentOS (tested on 7.3) the c++ tool which is part of gcc-c++ is
required, gcc-c++ is not pulled in with the rest of the toolchain
deps during the basic dep install so it needs to be included manually.

5 years agoAdd missing dependency for basic build.
Lars Goldschlager [Thu, 19 Jan 2017 14:37:05 +0000 (10:37 -0400)] 
Add missing dependency for basic build.

On CentOS (Tested on 7.3) erlang-erl_interface needs to be explicitly
installed for the build process to even start.

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/95'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 02:03:38 +0000 (21:03 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'pr/95'

Closes #95

5 years agoFix line length to make check passes
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 02:03:28 +0000 (21:03 -0500)] 
Fix line length to make check passes

5 years agoGrammar and an inaccuracy.
Lyn Headley [Sat, 17 Dec 2016 14:46:41 +0000 (06:46 -0800)] 
Grammar and an inaccuracy.

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/102'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 01:57:31 +0000 (20:57 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'pr/102'

Close #102

5 years agoFix wording & make ines < 80 chars long
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 01:57:11 +0000 (20:57 -0500)] 
Fix wording & make ines < 80 chars long

5 years agoFix Shard documentation: typos, minor clarification on ASCII codes
Rob Porter [Wed, 22 Feb 2017 18:28:08 +0000 (13:28 -0500)] 
Fix Shard documentation: typos, minor clarification on ASCII codes

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/99'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 01:42:41 +0000 (20:42 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'pr/99'

Closes #99

5 years agoFix documentation contribution guidelines
Lucas Satabin [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 16:30:11 +0000 (17:30 +0100)] 
Fix documentation contribution guidelines

The documentation site now lives in its own git repository. The
guidelines are outdated.

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/101'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 8 Mar 2017 01:40:15 +0000 (20:40 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'pr/101'

Closes #101

5 years agoFix typo in `$all` and `$elemMatch` selector doc
Lucas Satabin [Sat, 11 Feb 2017 16:12:43 +0000 (17:12 +0100)] 
Fix typo in `$all` and `$elemMatch` selector doc

5 years agoAdd documentation for the `$allMatch` selector
Lucas Satabin [Sat, 11 Feb 2017 16:11:53 +0000 (17:11 +0100)] 
Add documentation for the `$allMatch` selector

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/100'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Thu, 9 Feb 2017 16:20:55 +0000 (11:20 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'pr/100'

Close #100

5 years agoCapitalize IP as everywhere else 100/head
Jonathan Hall [Thu, 9 Feb 2017 15:04:05 +0000 (16:04 +0100)] 
Capitalize IP as everywhere else

5 years agoWhat other hand? There was no "first" hand.
Jonathan Hall [Thu, 9 Feb 2017 15:02:55 +0000 (16:02 +0100)] 
What other hand? There was no "first" hand.

5 years agoFix typo
Jonathan Hall [Thu, 9 Feb 2017 15:01:10 +0000 (16:01 +0100)] 
Fix typo

5 years agoMerge pr/93
michellephung [Fri, 13 Jan 2017 04:17:45 +0000 (23:17 -0500)] 
Merge pr/93

5 years ago_db_updates heartbeat option is a number 93/head
Johannes J. Schmidt [Wed, 7 Dec 2016 10:17:59 +0000 (11:17 +0100)] 
_db_updates heartbeat option is a number

like for _changes feed

5 years agoMerge pr/94
michellephung [Thu, 12 Jan 2017 03:58:40 +0000 (22:58 -0500)] 
Merge pr/94

5 years agoinstall/index.rst: More details on Single-Node-Setup 94/head
dmunch [Thu, 8 Dec 2016 11:07:54 +0000 (12:07 +0100)] 
install/index.rst: More details on Single-Node-Setup

Stress the fact that the “Single-Node-Setup” creates the system databases for you. Add how single node setup can be done without using the wizard.

5 years agoMerge branch pr/96
michellephung [Wed, 11 Jan 2017 03:29:50 +0000 (22:29 -0500)] 
Merge branch pr/96

5 years agoInline comments: Improve phrasing 96/head
Patrick [Wed, 4 Jan 2017 07:47:55 +0000 (08:47 +0100)] 
Inline comments: Improve phrasing

5 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'github/pr/97'
Alexander Shorin [Tue, 10 Jan 2017 19:35:43 +0000 (22:35 +0300)] 
Merge remote-tracking branch 'github/pr/97'

5 years agoUpdate python versions to 2.7/3.4, Replace latex_paper_size 97/head
Patrick Bänziger [Tue, 10 Jan 2017 08:51:55 +0000 (09:51 +0100)] 
Update python versions to 2.7/3.4, Replace latex_paper_size

Sphinx requires python 2.7/3.4 or higher.
Latex_paper_size property is deprecated, replace with latex_elements.papersize

According to the latest failed builds, sphinx needs at least Python 2.7 or 3.4 to build.

5 years agoFix Fauxton docs 64/head
michellephung [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 03:53:24 +0000 (23:53 -0400)] 
Fix Fauxton docs

Closes COUCHDB-3123

5 years agoDocument stable and update query parameters
Will Holley [Tue, 11 Oct 2016 08:48:54 +0000 (09:48 +0100)] 
Document stable and update query parameters

CouchDB-3063 adds 2 new query parameters when querying views.
This commit adds API documentation for these and a note in the
performance guide around when to use them.

PR: #81
PR-URL: https://github.com/apache/couchdb-documentation/pull/81
Reviewed-By: Robert Newson <rnewson@apache.org>
Reviewed-By: Robert Kowalski <rok@kowalski.gd>
5 years agoFixing type error
Victor Palomo de Castro [Thu, 20 Oct 2016 20:06:48 +0000 (18:06 -0200)] 
Fixing type error

PR: #84
PR-URL: https://github.com/apache/couchdb-documentation/pull/84
Reviewed-By: Robert Kowalski <rok@kowalski.gd>
5 years agoTiny 127 address fix
James Seigel [Sun, 23 Oct 2016 00:37:12 +0000 (18:37 -0600)] 
Tiny 127 address fix

Just removed a 0 to make the address more "normal"

PR: #85
PR-URL: https://github.com/apache/couchdb-documentation/pull/85
Reviewed-By: Robert Kowalski <rok@kowalski.gd>
5 years agoMore command cleanup
James Seigel [Sun, 23 Oct 2016 02:35:47 +0000 (20:35 -0600)] 
More command cleanup

PR: #86
PR-URL: https://github.com/apache/couchdb-documentation/pull/86
Reviewed-By: Robert Kowalski <rok@kowalski.gd>
5 years agoFixed the transposition of the version or erlang
James Seigel [Sun, 23 Oct 2016 03:46:52 +0000 (21:46 -0600)] 
Fixed the transposition of the version or erlang

PR: #87
PR-URL: https://github.com/apache/couchdb-documentation/pull/87
Reviewed-By: Robert Kowalski <rok@kowalski.gd>
5 years agoSpelling error fix: fauxuton to fauxton 90/head
bebo_sudo [Thu, 17 Nov 2016 15:16:27 +0000 (16:16 +0100)] 
Spelling error fix: fauxuton to fauxton

PR: #89
PR-URL: https://github.com/apache/couchdb-documentation/pull/89
Reviewed-By: Robert Kowalski <rok@kowalski.gd>
5 years agoAdd os_process_soft_limit section 88/head
Jay Doane [Wed, 16 Nov 2016 00:54:07 +0000 (16:54 -0800)] 
Add os_process_soft_limit section

5 years agoChange os_process_limit default to 100
Jay Doane [Wed, 16 Nov 2016 00:53:24 +0000 (16:53 -0800)] 
Change os_process_limit default to 100

5 years agoFix os_process_limit documentation
Jay Doane [Tue, 15 Nov 2016 23:43:19 +0000 (15:43 -0800)] 
Fix os_process_limit documentation

Update documentation with correct description of os_process_limit
parameter function, correct default value, and hints for typical
production values.

COUCHDB-3238

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/83'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Wed, 19 Oct 2016 01:00:46 +0000 (21:00 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'pr/83'

5 years agoCorrect stylistic errors. 83/head
Adrian Warman [Tue, 18 Oct 2016 22:23:31 +0000 (23:23 +0100)] 
Correct stylistic errors.

5 years agoMerge branch 'pr/82'
Nick Vatamaniuc [Tue, 18 Oct 2016 19:25:08 +0000 (15:25 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'pr/82'

5 years agoAdd material describing selector objects as part of a replication document.
Adrian Warman [Tue, 18 Oct 2016 12:09:53 +0000 (13:09 +0100)] 
Add material describing selector objects as part of a replication document.

5 years agofix api.rst 80/head
Lev Tonkikh [Sat, 15 Oct 2016 19:36:09 +0000 (22:36 +0300)] 
fix api.rst

5 years agofix curl.rst
Lev Tonkikh [Sat, 15 Oct 2016 19:33:26 +0000 (22:33 +0300)] 
fix curl.rst

5 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'apache/master'
Lev Tonkikh [Sat, 15 Oct 2016 19:29:02 +0000 (22:29 +0300)] 
Merge remote-tracking branch 'apache/master'

5 years agoUpdate unix.rst 82/head
Elaine K. Lee [Thu, 13 Oct 2016 04:03:29 +0000 (23:03 -0500)] 
Update unix.rst

Change `verify_install.html` to `index.html#verifyinstall`

5 years agofix port number
Robert Newson [Wed, 12 Oct 2016 19:57:36 +0000 (20:57 +0100)] 
fix port number

5 years agofix trailing whitespace
Lev Tonkikh [Tue, 11 Oct 2016 08:24:45 +0000 (11:24 +0300)] 
fix trailing whitespace

5 years agowelcome
Lev Tonkikh [Sun, 9 Oct 2016 08:30:31 +0000 (11:30 +0300)] 
welcome

new json

5 years agofix trailing whitespace
Lev Tonkikh [Tue, 11 Oct 2016 08:24:45 +0000 (11:24 +0300)] 
fix trailing whitespace

5 years agoRemove empty line from end of file
Nick Vatamaniuc [Tue, 11 Oct 2016 04:53:04 +0000 (00:53 -0400)] 
Remove empty line from end of file

5 years agoCouch is really CouchDB
Dave Lloyd [Tue, 11 Oct 2016 02:26:23 +0000 (21:26 -0500)] 
Couch is really CouchDB

Ensure consistency in referring to CouchDB

5 years agoFormatting
Dave Lloyd [Mon, 26 Sep 2016 13:08:45 +0000 (08:08 -0500)] 
Formatting

5 years agoAdd compiler flag documentation
Dave Lloyd [Mon, 26 Sep 2016 13:08:09 +0000 (08:08 -0500)] 
Add compiler flag documentation

5 years agowelcome
Lev Tonkikh [Sun, 9 Oct 2016 08:30:31 +0000 (11:30 +0300)] 
welcome

new json

5 years agoFix whitespace in config file paths
Nick Vatamaniuc [Fri, 7 Oct 2016 16:26:30 +0000 (12:26 -0400)] 
Fix whitespace in config file paths

5 years agoAdded location of default.ini and local.ini for macOS packaged version.
Mark Williams [Mon, 3 Oct 2016 00:51:49 +0000 (17:51 -0700)] 
Added location of default.ini and local.ini for macOS packaged version.

5 years agoFix PouchDB replication source code link
Phillip Calvin [Thu, 6 Oct 2016 00:52:06 +0000 (20:52 -0400)] 
Fix PouchDB replication source code link

5 years agoDescribe use of '_selector' option for filter.
Adrian Warman [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 16:15:22 +0000 (17:15 +0100)] 
Describe use of '_selector' option for filter.

Add sub-heading fixes.

5 years agoFix an asterisk escape in unix install 79/head
Nick Vatamaniuc [Fri, 7 Oct 2016 03:36:14 +0000 (23:36 -0400)] 
Fix an asterisk escape in unix install

It prevents docs from being built currently