Performance improvements to spiral, counter, histogram & spiral_uniform
authorAndrew Thompson <andrew@hijacked.us>
Sat, 15 Dec 2012 07:30:08 +0000 (02:30 -0500)
committerAndrew Thompson <andrew@hijacked.us>
Tue, 18 Dec 2012 03:29:33 +0000 (22:29 -0500)
commit2be6249280fd686c6ecf79b1383433f2efb54efa
tree0c1ea8266ed8aa2535ddc15f824aa63fb598708b
parentd68bb193d3502f339588de996e019ea611075086
Performance improvements to spiral, counter, histogram & spiral_uniform

Changes include:

Partition counter and spiral writes by erlang:system_info(scheduler_id)
and a bitwise mask. There is also potential for better cache behavior
given the fixed mapping between Erlang scheduler thread and partitioned
key.

Switch spiral and slide_uniform from ordered_set to set. Set supports
fine grained locking whereas ordered_set requires a full-table lock.
Combining set and separating values greatly reduces ETS contention.

Change histogram to avoid an ETS insert if the sample passed into the
histogram update function matches the result.

There are 2 places in folsom where an ets:insert_new is done immediately
followed by an ets:update_counter on the same key. Since, in the normal
case, the key is likely to already exist, this can be optimized by
trying the update_counter first in a try/catch and only do the
insert_new if needed. This is provided as a utility function called
folsom_utils:update_counter().

There is a bug in slide_uniform where it would not decrease the
probability of doing a write the more updates it received in a
particular moment. Effectively slide_uniform updates would always result
in a write. This bug has been corrected, along with the Quickcheck test.
include/folsom.hrl
src/folsom_metrics_counter.erl
src/folsom_metrics_histogram.erl
src/folsom_metrics_spiral.erl
src/folsom_sample_slide_uniform.erl
src/folsom_utils.erl
test/folsom_tests.erl
test/slide_uniform_eqc.erl