couchdb-folsom.git
9 years agoMerge pull request #49 from avasenin/fix-eunit-tests
Joe Williams [Fri, 18 Jan 2013 04:49:30 +0000 (20:49 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #49 from avasenin/fix-eunit-tests

Fix eunit folsom_erlang_checks test

9 years agoFix eunit folsom_erlang_checks test
Andrey Vasenin [Thu, 17 Jan 2013 20:56:00 +0000 (00:56 +0400)] 
Fix eunit folsom_erlang_checks test

9 years agoMerge pull request #47 from basho/jdb-faster-slide-eunit-fixes-squashed
Joe Williams [Thu, 3 Jan 2013 17:47:24 +0000 (09:47 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #47 from basho/jdb-faster-slide-eunit-fixes-squashed

Improve performance of slide histogram

9 years agoFix EUnit failures that should've been fixed before merging jdb-faster-slide
Scott Lystig Fritchie [Wed, 2 Jan 2013 17:58:19 +0000 (11:58 -0600)] 
Fix EUnit failures that should've been fixed before merging jdb-faster-slide

* Avoid EUnit-enforced timeouts with prop_window_test_()
* Change folsom_sample_slide_test.erl to avoid failure like https://gist.github.com/272dc6bcd2478484bffa
* Fix sorting bug Russell sees but I don't, sorry!

9 years agoImprove performance of slide histogram
Joseph Blomstedt [Fri, 28 Dec 2012 23:44:14 +0000 (15:44 -0800)] 
Improve performance of slide histogram

Partition slide histogram reservoir by erlang:system_info(scheduler_id),
as previously done with counter and spiral metrics.

9 years agoMerge pull request #46 from basho/rdb-counter-clear
Joe Williams [Wed, 2 Jan 2013 18:17:42 +0000 (10:17 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #46 from basho/rdb-counter-clear

Expose the clear/1 fun from counter in the folsom api

9 years agoExpose the clear/1 fun from counter in the folsom api
Russell Brown [Wed, 2 Jan 2013 17:23:04 +0000 (17:23 +0000)] 
Expose the clear/1 fun from counter in the folsom api

Conflicts:
test/folsom_erlang_checks.erl

9 years agoMerge pull request #45 from basho/adt-speedups
Joe Williams [Wed, 19 Dec 2012 00:27:10 +0000 (16:27 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #45 from basho/adt-speedups

Performance improvements to spiral, counter, histogram & spiral_uniform

9 years agoPerformance improvements to spiral, counter, histogram & spiral_uniform
Andrew Thompson [Sat, 15 Dec 2012 07:30:08 +0000 (02:30 -0500)] 
Performance improvements to spiral, counter, histogram & spiral_uniform

Changes include:

Partition counter and spiral writes by erlang:system_info(scheduler_id)
and a bitwise mask. There is also potential for better cache behavior
given the fixed mapping between Erlang scheduler thread and partitioned
key.

Switch spiral and slide_uniform from ordered_set to set. Set supports
fine grained locking whereas ordered_set requires a full-table lock.
Combining set and separating values greatly reduces ETS contention.

Change histogram to avoid an ETS insert if the sample passed into the
histogram update function matches the result.

There are 2 places in folsom where an ets:insert_new is done immediately
followed by an ets:update_counter on the same key. Since, in the normal
case, the key is likely to already exist, this can be optimized by
trying the update_counter first in a try/catch and only do the
insert_new if needed. This is provided as a utility function called
folsom_utils:update_counter().

There is a bug in slide_uniform where it would not decrease the
probability of doing a write the more updates it received in a
particular moment. Effectively slide_uniform updates would always result
in a write. This bug has been corrected, along with the Quickcheck test.

9 years agoMerge pull request #43 from Ubiquiti-TeleFi/boundary
Joe Williams [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 18:14:40 +0000 (10:14 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #43 from Ubiquiti-TeleFi/boundary

Add new timed update begin/notify functions

9 years agoAdd new timed update begin/notify functions
Paul Oliver [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 17:52:20 +0000 (12:52 -0500)] 
Add new timed update begin/notify functions

9 years agobump bear
joewilliams [Mon, 3 Dec 2012 23:07:46 +0000 (15:07 -0800)] 
bump bear

9 years agoMerge pull request #42 from Ubiquiti-TeleFi/boundary
Joe Williams [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 21:00:08 +0000 (14:00 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #42 from Ubiquiti-TeleFi/boundary

Remove dead code

9 years agoRemove dead code
Paul Oliver [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 20:52:42 +0000 (16:52 -0400)] 
Remove dead code

9 years agoMerge pull request #40 from juise/master
Joe Williams [Tue, 9 Oct 2012 16:29:04 +0000 (09:29 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #40 from juise/master

Add ewma for day support, add tests

9 years agoAdd ewma for day suport, add tests
Petrovsky Alexander [Tue, 9 Oct 2012 14:25:32 +0000 (18:25 +0400)] 
Add ewma for day suport, add tests

9 years agoMerge pull request #39 from juise/master
Joe Williams [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 17:23:25 +0000 (10:23 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #39 from juise/master

Unregister a timer for deleted meters

9 years agoUnregister a timer for deleted meters
Petrovsky Alexander [Sat, 6 Oct 2012 16:59:07 +0000 (20:59 +0400)] 
Unregister a timer for deleted meters

10 years agoMerge pull request #36 from danielwhite/fix_system_info_for_win32
Joe Williams [Wed, 26 Sep 2012 00:58:56 +0000 (17:58 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #36 from danielwhite/fix_system_info_for_win32

Fix handling of c_compiler_used when erlang was compiled with MSC

10 years agoFix handling of c_compiler_used when only a major version is provided
Daniel White [Wed, 26 Sep 2012 00:50:30 +0000 (10:50 +1000)] 
Fix handling of c_compiler_used when only a major version is provided

This mostly occurs when erlang is compiled under MSC since it only
provides a single number as the version.  GCC can trigger this issue if it
does not have a minor version, but is probably rare in the wild.

Additionally, this allows for the case where erlang wasn't able to
determine which compiler was used (i.e. {undefined, undefined}).

Add test for the handling of c_compiler_used by convert_system_info

10 years agoclean up and log cpu test case
joewilliams [Tue, 25 Sep 2012 23:28:21 +0000 (16:28 -0700)] 
clean up and log cpu test case

10 years agobetter cpu topology test coverage
joewilliams [Tue, 25 Sep 2012 23:18:37 +0000 (16:18 -0700)] 
better cpu topology test coverage

10 years agoMerge pull request #37 from lemenkov/sysinfo_single_cpu_core
Joe Williams [Tue, 25 Sep 2012 23:16:00 +0000 (16:16 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #37 from lemenkov/sysinfo_single_cpu_core

Fix for single-core CPU

10 years agoFix for single-core CPU
Peter Lemenkov [Tue, 25 Sep 2012 09:23:03 +0000 (13:23 +0400)] 
Fix for single-core CPU

See boundary/folsom#32

Signed-off-by: Peter Lemenkov <lemenkov@gmail.com>
10 years agoMerge pull request #35 from DeadZen/patch-1
Joe Williams [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 22:33:02 +0000 (15:33 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #35 from DeadZen/patch-1

Comment out newly deprecated system_info global_heaps_size

10 years agoComment out deprecated system_info field
DeadZen [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 22:28:11 +0000 (19:28 -0300)] 
Comment out deprecated system_info field

global_heaps_size is no more

10 years agoMerge pull request #33 from basho/rdb-no-more-now
Joe Williams [Sat, 8 Sep 2012 21:24:54 +0000 (14:24 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #33 from basho/rdb-no-more-now

Use os:timestamp over locky erlang:now

10 years agoUse os:timestamp over locky erlang:now
Russell Brown [Sat, 8 Sep 2012 04:28:19 +0000 (06:28 +0200)] 
Use os:timestamp over locky erlang:now

10 years agoan attempt to fix a few different cases in convert_cpu_topology
joewilliams [Wed, 29 Aug 2012 20:29:36 +0000 (13:29 -0700)] 
an attempt to fix a few different cases in convert_cpu_topology

10 years agoMerge pull request #31 from campanja/master
Joe Williams [Mon, 27 Aug 2012 16:15:48 +0000 (09:15 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #31 from campanja/master

support n-ary metric initialization from application environment at startup

10 years agosupport n-ary metric initialization from application environment at startup
Fabian Linzberger [Fri, 27 Jul 2012 14:51:48 +0000 (16:51 +0200)] 
support n-ary metric initialization from application environment at startup

10 years agobump bear dep
joewilliams [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 21:28:59 +0000 (14:28 -0700)] 
bump bear dep

10 years agoquotes
joewilliams [Mon, 16 Jul 2012 19:52:37 +0000 (12:52 -0700)] 
quotes

10 years agouse bear tag
joewilliams [Mon, 16 Jul 2012 19:50:31 +0000 (12:50 -0700)] 
use bear tag

10 years agoMerge pull request #29 from basho/rdb-docs
Joe Williams [Wed, 11 Jul 2012 16:53:20 +0000 (09:53 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #29 from basho/rdb-docs

Add new metric and sample types to README

10 years agoAdd new metric and sample types to README
Russell Brown [Wed, 11 Jul 2012 12:40:51 +0000 (13:40 +0100)] 
Add new metric and sample types to README

10 years agoMerge pull request #28 from basho/master
Joe Williams [Tue, 10 Jul 2012 20:19:30 +0000 (13:19 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #28 from basho/master

Add a 'spiral' one minute sliding window count/meter

10 years agoAdd a 'spiral' one minute sliding window count/meter
Russell Brown [Thu, 5 Jul 2012 18:04:51 +0000 (19:04 +0100)] 
Add a 'spiral' one minute sliding window count/meter

Sorry about the name.

10 years agoMerge pull request #26 from basho/rdb-slides-squash
Joe Williams [Fri, 1 Jun 2012 21:07:42 +0000 (14:07 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #26 from basho/rdb-slides-squash

Add a sliding window sample types for histograms

10 years agoAdd a hybrid sliding window/uniform sample to bound size
Russell Brown [Fri, 18 May 2012 14:39:29 +0000 (15:39 +0100)] 
Add a hybrid sliding window/uniform sample to bound size

10 years agoAdd a sliding window sample type for histograms
Russell Brown [Tue, 15 May 2012 14:07:02 +0000 (15:07 +0100)] 
Add a sliding window sample type for histograms

10 years agoMerge pull request #24 from basho/rdb-duration-metric
Joe Williams [Thu, 31 May 2012 17:07:17 +0000 (10:07 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #24 from basho/rdb-duration-metric

Add 'duration' metric as an extension of histogram

10 years agoAdd test for duration metric
Russell Brown [Thu, 31 May 2012 09:56:04 +0000 (10:56 +0100)] 
Add test for duration metric

10 years agoAdd 'duration' metric as an extension of histogram
Russell Brown [Fri, 18 May 2012 14:39:29 +0000 (15:39 +0100)] 
Add 'duration' metric as an extension of histogram

10 years agoMerge pull request #23 from paulperegud/bug/fix_sample_uniform
Joe Williams [Tue, 29 May 2012 05:07:53 +0000 (22:07 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #23 from paulperegud/bug/fix_sample_uniform

Bug/fix sample uniform

10 years agofix error in sample_uniform that caused non-random sampling of large
Paul Peregud [Mon, 28 May 2012 12:48:23 +0000 (14:48 +0200)] 
fix error in sample_uniform that caused non-random sampling of large
populations

10 years agoadd test for sample_uniform bug
Paul Peregud [Mon, 28 May 2012 12:48:43 +0000 (14:48 +0200)] 
add test for sample_uniform bug

10 years agoMerge pull request #22 from basho/rdb-history-ets-name
Joe Williams [Sun, 27 May 2012 20:14:34 +0000 (13:14 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #22 from basho/rdb-history-ets-name

Use anonymous table for history (like histogram reservoir)

10 years agoUse anonymous table for history (like histogram reservoir)
Russell Brown [Thu, 24 May 2012 09:40:10 +0000 (10:40 +0100)] 
Use anonymous table for history (like histogram reservoir)

In multi-app environments (like riak) naming stats with a 2 tuple
is useful. It makes querying stats by app e.g. {riak_kv, _} much simpler.
History metrics use the name of the metric as the name of the data table,
this commit uses an anonympus table and stores a record in the
?HISTORY_TABLE. Since that table is already defined and created
maybe this was the original intent?

10 years agoMerge pull request #19 from etrepum/folsom-stop
Joe Williams [Tue, 1 May 2012 22:14:27 +0000 (15:14 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #19 from etrepum/folsom-stop

fix typo in folsom:stop/1

10 years agofix typo in folsom:stop/1
Bob Ippolito [Tue, 1 May 2012 22:10:24 +0000 (15:10 -0700)] 
fix typo in folsom:stop/1

10 years agoMerge pull request #18 from etrepum/folsom-as-an-app
Joe Williams [Tue, 1 May 2012 04:02:57 +0000 (21:02 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #18 from etrepum/folsom-as-an-app

Folsom as an application

10 years agomake folsom an application, have folsom:start/0 use it
Bob Ippolito [Tue, 1 May 2012 00:48:43 +0000 (17:48 -0700)] 
make folsom an application, have folsom:start/0 use it

10 years agoadd deps and .eunit to .gitignore
Bob Ippolito [Tue, 1 May 2012 00:47:53 +0000 (17:47 -0700)] 
add deps and .eunit to .gitignore

10 years agomore efficient decrement
joewilliams [Thu, 26 Apr 2012 00:10:39 +0000 (17:10 -0700)] 
more efficient decrement

10 years agosome exdec sanity check guards
joewilliams [Tue, 24 Apr 2012 22:14:47 +0000 (15:14 -0700)] 
some exdec sanity check guards

10 years agofix tests for new exdec impl
joewilliams [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 22:06:13 +0000 (15:06 -0700)] 
fix tests for new exdec impl

10 years agouse ets internal counters for sample size and use lists:unzip for getting values
joewilliams [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 22:05:58 +0000 (15:05 -0700)] 
use ets internal counters for sample size and use lists:unzip for getting values

10 years agoexdec based on ets
joewilliams [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 21:23:48 +0000 (14:23 -0700)] 
exdec based on ets

10 years agoexpotentially decaying sample fixes
joewilliams [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 00:40:47 +0000 (17:40 -0700)] 
expotentially decaying sample fixes

10 years agofix rescale corner case
joewilliams [Thu, 19 Apr 2012 19:28:18 +0000 (12:28 -0700)] 
fix rescale corner case

10 years agoreadme update
joewilliams [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 17:32:40 +0000 (10:32 -0700)] 
readme update

10 years agoreadme update
joewilliams [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 16:51:12 +0000 (09:51 -0700)] 
readme update

10 years agoadd ets/dets info to vm metrics
joewilliams [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 16:47:22 +0000 (09:47 -0700)] 
add ets/dets info to vm metrics

10 years agoreadme update for meter reader
joewilliams [Tue, 17 Apr 2012 17:40:37 +0000 (10:40 -0700)] 
readme update for meter reader

10 years agofix meter reader test
joewilliams [Mon, 16 Apr 2012 20:41:49 +0000 (13:41 -0700)] 
fix meter reader test

10 years agometer reader initial merge
joewilliams [Mon, 16 Apr 2012 19:46:13 +0000 (12:46 -0700)] 
meter reader initial merge

10 years agoerror out for info and get_values if the metric doesnt exist
joewilliams [Thu, 12 Apr 2012 16:25:21 +0000 (09:25 -0700)] 
error out for info and get_values if the metric doesnt exist

10 years agofix cpu topo conversion on SMP machines
joewilliams [Tue, 3 Apr 2012 17:42:48 +0000 (10:42 -0700)] 
fix cpu topo conversion on SMP machines

10 years agoroadmap
joewilliams [Fri, 30 Mar 2012 23:54:24 +0000 (16:54 -0700)] 
roadmap

10 years agouse bear for stats functions
joewilliams [Fri, 30 Mar 2012 22:35:29 +0000 (15:35 -0700)] 
use bear for stats functions

10 years agoMerge pull request #12 from johannesh/patch-1
Joe Williams [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 19:35:43 +0000 (12:35 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #12 from johannesh/patch-1

Fix typos in README.md

10 years agoMerge pull request #15 from Erkan-Yilmaz/master
Joe Williams [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 19:35:04 +0000 (12:35 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #15 from Erkan-Yilmaz/master

typos

10 years agotypos
Erkan Yilmaz [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 16:25:27 +0000 (17:25 +0100)] 
typos

10 years agoMerge pull request #13 from techtraits/master
Joe Williams [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 04:06:33 +0000 (20:06 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #13 from techtraits/master

Bin calculation for histogram metric fixed

10 years agoFix the computation of bins for histogram
Bilal Sheikh [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 03:04:04 +0000 (22:04 -0500)] 
Fix the computation of bins for histogram

10 years agofix corner cases in kurt, skew and bin updates
joewilliams [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 17:03:27 +0000 (09:03 -0800)] 
fix corner cases in kurt, skew and bin updates

10 years agofix binning corner cases
joewilliams [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 19:41:49 +0000 (11:41 -0800)] 
fix binning corner cases

10 years agoguard against too few values in a histogram sample
joewilliams [Fri, 16 Dec 2011 22:47:50 +0000 (14:47 -0800)] 
guard against too few values in a histogram sample

10 years agoattempt at better dynamic histogram binning
joewilliams [Fri, 16 Dec 2011 19:42:17 +0000 (11:42 -0800)] 
attempt at better dynamic histogram binning

10 years agohave histogram ets tables created by a folsom process
joewilliams [Fri, 9 Dec 2011 19:57:48 +0000 (11:57 -0800)] 
have histogram ets tables created by a folsom process

10 years agoFix typos in README.md
Johannes Huning [Fri, 9 Dec 2011 14:41:31 +0000 (15:41 +0100)] 
Fix typos in README.md

10 years agodynamic histogram buckets
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 20:41:44 +0000 (12:41 -0800)] 
dynamic histogram buckets

10 years agoremove clear function for histograms
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 17:24:59 +0000 (09:24 -0800)] 
remove clear function for histograms

10 years agofix up exdec sample random seeding
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 04:24:03 +0000 (20:24 -0800)] 
fix up exdec sample random seeding

10 years agoget rid of unused functions
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 04:01:20 +0000 (20:01 -0800)] 
get rid of unused functions

10 years agoheader white space
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 03:57:30 +0000 (19:57 -0800)] 
header white space

10 years agomake sure to clean up sample ets tables
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 03:56:02 +0000 (19:56 -0800)] 
make sure to clean up sample ets tables

10 years agofix geo mean test
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 03:34:21 +0000 (19:34 -0800)] 
fix geo mean test

10 years agouse ets for reservoir on uniform and none sample types
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 03:30:35 +0000 (19:30 -0800)] 
use ets for reservoir on uniform and none sample types

10 years agomake sure hist value lengths are the same for correlations
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 02:59:30 +0000 (18:59 -0800)] 
make sure hist value lengths are the same for correlations

10 years agohistogram stats speed improvements, thanks nygge
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 02:38:58 +0000 (18:38 -0800)] 
histogram stats speed improvements, thanks nygge

10 years agouse 1 as geometric mean sub value
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 02:20:57 +0000 (18:20 -0800)] 
use 1 as geometric mean sub value

10 years agofix for divide by zero in histogram stats
joewilliams [Wed, 7 Dec 2011 02:11:21 +0000 (18:11 -0800)] 
fix for divide by zero in histogram stats

10 years agowhite space
joewilliams [Thu, 1 Dec 2011 06:08:22 +0000 (22:08 -0800)] 
white space

10 years agoMerge pull request #9 from dietrichf/master
Joe Williams [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 22:56:45 +0000 (14:56 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #9 from dietrichf/master

expose count total in meters output

10 years agoinclude count in visible meter data
Dietrich Featherston [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 22:37:17 +0000 (14:37 -0800)] 
include count in visible meter data

10 years agomore histogram checks
joewilliams [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 06:36:51 +0000 (22:36 -0800)] 
more histogram checks

10 years agochange timed histogram updates to use timer:tc and return values of the called functi...
joewilliams [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 06:11:16 +0000 (22:11 -0800)] 
change timed histogram updates to use timer:tc and return values of the called functions, more tests too

10 years agosimplify timer server state and make sure multiple registers for the same meter dont...
joewilliams [Tue, 22 Nov 2011 23:45:42 +0000 (15:45 -0800)] 
simplify timer server state and make sure multiple registers for the same meter dont cause issues