datasketches-java.git
2 months agoRemove unused method 394/head
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 21 Apr 2022 18:28:03 +0000 (11:28 -0700)] 
Remove unused method

2 months agoFirst pass speed optimization of the off-heap Kll sketch.
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 21 Apr 2022 15:43:00 +0000 (08:43 -0700)] 
First pass speed optimization of the off-heap Kll sketch.

2 months agoMerge pull request #393 from apache/disallowUpdatableHeapify
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 20 Apr 2022 18:36:02 +0000 (11:36 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #393 from apache/disallowUpdatableHeapify

Made the public heapify method throw if the given memory is in updatable

2 months agoMake KllSketch public again as per request from Alex. 393/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 20 Apr 2022 02:51:45 +0000 (19:51 -0700)] 
Make KllSketch public again as per request from Alex.

2 months agoMade the public heapify method throw if the given memory is in updatable
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 19 Apr 2022 21:30:47 +0000 (14:30 -0700)] 
Made the public heapify method throw if the given memory is in updatable
format.

2 months agoThis commit removes the public toUpdatableByteArray() method from the
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 19 Apr 2022 18:53:19 +0000 (11:53 -0700)] 
This commit removes the public toUpdatableByteArray() method from the
public classes KllDoubleSketch and KllFloatsSketch.

2 months agoMerge pull request #392 from apache/RemoveExtraEmptyLines
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 19 Apr 2022 02:46:51 +0000 (19:46 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #392 from apache/RemoveExtraEmptyLines

This does not affect any code, This is a cosmetic fix to remove extra

2 months agoThis does not affect any code, This is a cosmetic fix to remove extra 392/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 19 Apr 2022 00:36:12 +0000 (17:36 -0700)] 
This does not affect any code, This is a cosmetic fix to remove extra
blank lines.  I did find a couple of Javadoc spelling errors.

2 months agoMerge pull request #391 from apache/DirectKllDoubleV2
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 18 Apr 2022 23:52:58 +0000 (16:52 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #391 from apache/DirectKllDoubleV2

Direct kll double v2

2 months agoAdded fast methods for creating serialized empty and singleItem sketch 391/head
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 18 Apr 2022 21:51:47 +0000 (14:51 -0700)] 
Added fast methods for creating serialized empty and singleItem sketch
byte arrays.

2 months agoMerge branch 'master' into DirectKllDoubleV2
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 18 Apr 2022 19:10:19 +0000 (12:10 -0700)] 
Merge branch 'master' into DirectKllDoubleV2

2 months agoMerge branch 'master' of git@github.com:apache/datasketches-java.git
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 18 Apr 2022 19:08:05 +0000 (12:08 -0700)] 
Merge branch 'master' of git@github.com:apache/datasketches-java.git

2 months agoFixing Security warnings (priority: HIGH) from CodeQL.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 18 Apr 2022 19:07:36 +0000 (12:07 -0700)] 
Fixing Security warnings (priority: HIGH) from CodeQL.

2 months agoCreate codeql-analysis.yml
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 18 Apr 2022 18:16:55 +0000 (11:16 -0700)] 
Create codeql-analysis.yml

2 months agoAdded parallel test for DoublesSketch
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 17 Apr 2022 06:36:05 +0000 (23:36 -0700)] 
Added parallel test for DoublesSketch

2 months agoOptimizing Merge speed performance. Simplifying some rather obscure
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 17 Apr 2022 06:31:23 +0000 (23:31 -0700)] 
Optimizing Merge speed performance. Simplifying some rather obscure
code.

2 months agoSome code optimization, removing unnecessary methods. Fixed some unit
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 16 Apr 2022 20:26:32 +0000 (13:26 -0700)] 
Some code optimization, removing unnecessary methods. Fixed some unit
tests that were not configured properly. Added unit tests.

2 months agoCoce coverage is now about 96%.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 16 Apr 2022 05:35:24 +0000 (22:35 -0700)] 
Coce coverage is now about 96%.

2 months agoSplit up some tests into more focused files.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 16 Apr 2022 00:53:28 +0000 (17:53 -0700)] 
Split up some tests into more focused files.

2 months agoAdded tests, cleaned up a few unused methods, improved some Javadocs.
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 15 Apr 2022 23:28:04 +0000 (16:28 -0700)] 
Added tests, cleaned up a few unused methods, improved some Javadocs.

2 months agoFound a bug and made KllSketch public.
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 15 Apr 2022 20:37:54 +0000 (13:37 -0700)] 
Found a bug and made KllSketch public.

2 months agoMade getMaxSerializedSizeBytes(...) static in both KllDoublesSketch and
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 15 Apr 2022 02:52:47 +0000 (19:52 -0700)] 
Made getMaxSerializedSizeBytes(...) static in both KllDoublesSketch and
KllFloatsSketch

2 months agoFix LGTM issue.
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 15 Apr 2022 01:01:25 +0000 (18:01 -0700)] 
Fix LGTM issue.

2 months agoInterim 16
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 14 Apr 2022 23:54:41 +0000 (16:54 -0700)] 
Interim 16

2 months agoInterim 15
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 13 Apr 2022 15:44:51 +0000 (08:44 -0700)] 
Interim 15

2 months agoInterim 14
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 8 Apr 2022 03:14:45 +0000 (20:14 -0700)] 
Interim 14

2 months agoFixed some tests. Other minor fixes.
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 7 Apr 2022 21:47:58 +0000 (14:47 -0700)] 
Fixed some tests. Other minor fixes.

2 months agoMajor refactoring completed.
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 7 Apr 2022 04:12:41 +0000 (21:12 -0700)] 
Major refactoring completed.

2 months agoRefactored KllDirectDoublesSketch and KllDirectFloatsSketch
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 6 Apr 2022 20:15:10 +0000 (13:15 -0700)] 
Refactored KllDirectDoublesSketch and KllDirectFloatsSketch

2 months agoRenamed KllFloatsSketch to KllHeapFloatsSketch
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 6 Apr 2022 19:43:14 +0000 (12:43 -0700)] 
Renamed KllFloatsSketch to KllHeapFloatsSketch

and KllDoublesSketch to KllHeapDoublesSketch

2 months agoAdded isSameResource(Memory). 390/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 6 Apr 2022 18:17:09 +0000 (11:17 -0700)] 
Added isSameResource(Memory).

2 months agoInterim 13
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 6 Apr 2022 01:39:52 +0000 (18:39 -0700)] 
Interim 13

2 months agoInterim 12
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 5 Apr 2022 03:34:33 +0000 (20:34 -0700)] 
Interim 12

2 months agoThis push fixes David's method naming issue.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 5 Apr 2022 01:16:47 +0000 (18:16 -0700)] 
This push fixes David's method naming issue.

2 months agoThis post fixes all the issues in the last set of reviews except two: 1)
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 5 Apr 2022 01:04:28 +0000 (18:04 -0700)] 
This post fixes all the issues in the last set of reviews except two: 1)
I haven't renamed the memory dedicated "insert*" and "extract*" methods,
and 2) I haven't done the hierarchy refactoring along the lines we
discussed. I want check this in so that we can at least resolve all the
other conversations.

2 months agoRemoved mentions of m.
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 1 Apr 2022 00:31:39 +0000 (17:31 -0700)] 
Removed mentions of m.

2 months agoMoved public statics from KllPreambleUtil to KllSketch, added reset()
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 31 Mar 2022 23:29:12 +0000 (16:29 -0700)] 
Moved public statics from KllPreambleUtil to KllSketch, added reset()
method.

2 months agoRemoved redundant "exclusive"
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 31 Mar 2022 18:44:09 +0000 (11:44 -0700)] 
Removed redundant "exclusive"

2 months agoFixed issues raised during review.
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 31 Mar 2022 03:28:25 +0000 (20:28 -0700)] 
Fixed issues raised during review.

2 months agoFixing feedback from Review.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 30 Mar 2022 20:35:11 +0000 (13:35 -0700)] 
Fixing feedback from Review.

2 months agoFound a few more miscellaneous items.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 30 Mar 2022 18:56:36 +0000 (11:56 -0700)] 
Found a few more miscellaneous items.

2 months agoFixed issues from latest comments.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 30 Mar 2022 18:10:59 +0000 (11:10 -0700)] 
Fixed issues from latest comments.

2 months agoFix issues reported in PR Review, branch "Direct kll double" #360
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 30 Mar 2022 04:05:46 +0000 (21:05 -0700)] 
Fix issues reported in PR Review, branch "Direct kll double" #360

2 months agoEnabled the ability to grow into a larger configured Memory to reduce
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 29 Mar 2022 18:39:52 +0000 (11:39 -0700)] 
Enabled the ability to grow into a larger configured Memory to reduce
the number of calls to the MemoryRequestServer.

3 months agoImproved the KllHelper class to make it useful internally as well as to
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 27 Mar 2022 21:32:47 +0000 (14:32 -0700)] 
Improved the KllHelper class to make it useful internally as well as to
interested users.

3 months agoFixed a small issue with getSerializedSizeBytes().
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 27 Mar 2022 00:17:24 +0000 (17:17 -0700)] 
Fixed a small issue with getSerializedSizeBytes().

3 months agoRemove multiple empty lines
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 26 Mar 2022 22:31:39 +0000 (15:31 -0700)] 
Remove multiple empty lines

3 months agoMerge branch 'DirectKllDouble' of git@github.com:apache/datasketches-java.git into...
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 26 Mar 2022 22:10:20 +0000 (15:10 -0700)] 
Merge branch 'DirectKllDouble' of git@github.com:apache/datasketches-java.git into DirectKllDouble

3 months agoFixed the LGTM issues detected on the last push.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 26 Mar 2022 20:07:24 +0000 (13:07 -0700)] 
Fixed the LGTM issues detected on the last push.

3 months agoFixed the LGTM issues detected on the last push.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 26 Mar 2022 20:07:24 +0000 (13:07 -0700)] 
Fixed the LGTM issues detected on the last push.

3 months agoIteration 11, ready for review.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 26 Mar 2022 02:24:56 +0000 (19:24 -0700)] 
Iteration 11, ready for review.

3 months agoInterim 11. Almost done. KllDirectDoublesSketch working and tested.
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 25 Mar 2022 21:30:54 +0000 (14:30 -0700)] 
Interim 11.  Almost done.  KllDirectDoublesSketch working and tested.

Next: Create the KllDirectFloatsSketch and tests.

3 months agoInterim 10
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 17 Mar 2022 00:41:09 +0000 (17:41 -0700)] 
Interim 10

3 months agoInterim 9
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 9 Mar 2022 23:40:15 +0000 (15:40 -0800)] 
Interim 9

3 months agoInterim 8
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 7 Mar 2022 18:08:28 +0000 (10:08 -0800)] 
Interim 8

3 months agoInterim 7 Fixes a bug introduced in Interim 6
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 5 Mar 2022 21:23:04 +0000 (13:23 -0800)] 
Interim 7 Fixes a bug introduced in Interim 6

3 months agoInterim 6
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 5 Mar 2022 20:24:55 +0000 (12:24 -0800)] 
Interim 6

3 months agoInterim 5
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 5 Mar 2022 01:26:21 +0000 (17:26 -0800)] 
Interim 5

3 months agointerim 4
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 4 Mar 2022 20:23:24 +0000 (12:23 -0800)] 
interim 4

3 months agoInterim 3
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 4 Mar 2022 05:28:56 +0000 (21:28 -0800)] 
Interim 3

3 months agoInterim 2
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 3 Mar 2022 19:26:38 +0000 (11:26 -0800)] 
Interim 2

3 months agoInterim 1
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 1 Mar 2022 01:00:41 +0000 (17:00 -0800)] 
Interim 1

4 months agoMerge pull request #389 from apache/RefactorKLL
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 22 Feb 2022 17:50:38 +0000 (09:50 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #389 from apache/RefactorKLL

Refactor kll

4 months agoMinor changes in code documentation as a result of review. 389/head
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 21 Feb 2022 22:14:04 +0000 (14:14 -0800)] 
Minor changes in code documentation as a result of review.

4 months agoMore minor refactoring.
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 20 Feb 2022 23:18:37 +0000 (15:18 -0800)] 
More minor refactoring.

4 months agoMore refactoring and polishing:
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 20 Feb 2022 01:16:08 +0000 (17:16 -0800)] 
More refactoring and polishing:

Improved variable naming and method naming to be type specific where it
applied.

Rewrote toByteArray to use Memory.  This will make it easier to port to
Panama.

Moved class level javadocs to package-info because it is independent of
type.

4 months agoRefactor KllDoublesSketch and KllFloatsSketch to extend a BaseKllSketch.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 19 Feb 2022 00:09:38 +0000 (16:09 -0800)] 
Refactor KllDoublesSketch and KllFloatsSketch to extend a BaseKllSketch.

The base class contains all the common methods that don't depend on
float or double type. This reduced a lot of duplicate code.

4 months agoInitial interim commit
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 18 Feb 2022 18:59:36 +0000 (10:59 -0800)] 
Initial interim commit

4 months agoMerge pull request #388 from apache/getUnionSize
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 16 Feb 2022 22:44:54 +0000 (14:44 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #388 from apache/getUnionSize

Get union size

4 months agoIt turns out that the MurmurHash3v2Test.java file was the ONLY file in 388/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 16 Feb 2022 22:20:30 +0000 (14:20 -0800)] 
It turns out that the MurmurHash3v2Test.java file was the ONLY file in
the datasketches-java repo that had blank lines with extra spaces.

So I piggy-backed it here to avoid another PR.

4 months agoOops, forgot to comment out a print method.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 16 Feb 2022 05:02:46 +0000 (21:02 -0800)] 
Oops, forgot to comment out a print method.

4 months agoAdd two methods to Union:
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 16 Feb 2022 04:03:31 +0000 (20:03 -0800)] 
Add two methods to Union:

getCurrentBytes() and getMaxUnionBytes()

Requested by Druid.

4 months agoUpdate unit tests for KllDoubles and KllFloats
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 15 Feb 2022 21:47:42 +0000 (13:47 -0800)] 
Update unit tests for KllDoubles and KllFloats

4 months agoMerge pull request #387 from apache/KLLdoubles
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 9 Feb 2022 23:40:52 +0000 (15:40 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #387 from apache/KLLdoubles

KLL doubles

4 months agoFix typos: ≥ should have been ≥, etc. 387/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 9 Feb 2022 21:25:26 +0000 (13:25 -0800)] 
Fix typos: ≥ should have been ≥, etc.

4 months agoRemoved print statement in test. Fixed issue found by -P strict.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 9 Feb 2022 20:58:44 +0000 (12:58 -0800)] 
Removed print statement in test. Fixed issue found by -P strict.

4 months agoCreate common KllHelper to contain common methods between float and
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 9 Feb 2022 20:17:51 +0000 (12:17 -0800)] 
Create common KllHelper to contain common methods between float and
double helpers.

4 months agoUpdated SketchesCheckstyle.xml.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 7 Feb 2022 02:06:42 +0000 (18:06 -0800)] 
Updated SketchesCheckstyle.xml.

Improved Javadocs on InequalitySearch and GenericInequalitySearch.

4 months agoThis is the second phase of the creation of the KllDoublesSketch.
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 4 Feb 2022 05:51:24 +0000 (21:51 -0800)] 
This is the second phase of the creation of the KllDoublesSketch.

It runs all unit tests including the manual validation test.

4 months agoThis first commit prepares the current float-based classes.
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 4 Feb 2022 02:29:23 +0000 (18:29 -0800)] 
This first commit prepares the current float-based classes.

No change in logic. Just some renaming of classes to be type specific.
Plus a few cosmetic code comment changes.

The KllFloatsValidationTest does work when properly enabled in that test
and in the KllFloatsHelper.

4 months agoMerge pull request #385 from apache/FixAoDIntersect
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 2 Feb 2022 05:39:44 +0000 (21:39 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #385 from apache/FixAoDIntersect

Changed AoDIntersection check of matching numValues to an exception

4 months agoChanged AoDIntersection check of matching numValues to an exception 385/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 2 Feb 2022 00:22:49 +0000 (16:22 -0800)] 
Changed AoDIntersection check of matching numValues to an exception
instead of an assert.

Added Javadoc comments relevant to this requirement to Union, AnotB and
Intersection.

4 months agoMerge pull request #384 from apache/FixKllComments
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 29 Jan 2022 23:34:16 +0000 (15:34 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #384 from apache/FixKllComments

Fix kll comments

4 months agofix spelling, improved comments, etc. 384/head
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 29 Jan 2022 23:19:10 +0000 (15:19 -0800)] 
fix spelling, improved comments, etc.

No actual code changes.

4 months agoMerge branch 'master' into CommonQuantilesCalculator
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 28 Jan 2022 01:39:04 +0000 (17:39 -0800)] 
Merge branch 'master' into CommonQuantilesCalculator

5 months agoMerge pull request #383 from apache/3.1.X
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 26 Jan 2022 20:12:44 +0000 (12:12 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #383 from apache/3.1.X

3.1.x

5 months agoMerge branch 'master' into 3.1.X 383/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 26 Jan 2022 19:44:14 +0000 (11:44 -0800)] 
Merge branch 'master' into 3.1.X

5 months agoUpdate comments and code structure.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 26 Jan 2022 19:34:30 +0000 (11:34 -0800)] 
Update comments and code structure.

Minor changes to KLL.toString() format.

5 months agoupdate toString to reveal more info.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 25 Jan 2022 23:59:16 +0000 (15:59 -0800)] 
update toString to reveal more info.

5 months agoSpelling and make easier to read.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 25 Jan 2022 20:24:18 +0000 (12:24 -0800)] 
Spelling and make easier to read.

No code changes.

5 months agoUpdate pom with correct coordinates for git-commit-id-plugin. 3.1.0 3.1.0-RC1
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 21 Jan 2022 04:53:53 +0000 (20:53 -0800)] 
Update pom with correct coordinates for git-commit-id-plugin.

5 months agoMinor pom changes
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 23:45:32 +0000 (17:45 -0600)] 
Minor pom changes

5 months agoRelease Process: Change pom version to 3.2.0-SNAPSHOT
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 19:14:56 +0000 (13:14 -0600)] 
Release Process: Change pom version to 3.2.0-SNAPSHOT

5 months agoCreate Release Branch 3.1.X
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 18:59:49 +0000 (12:59 -0600)] 
Create Release Branch 3.1.X

5 months agoRemove Print statement
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 17:29:34 +0000 (11:29 -0600)] 
Remove Print statement

5 months agoMerge pull request #381 from apache/SpotBugs_Fixes
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 12 Jan 2022 21:31:58 +0000 (13:31 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #381 from apache/SpotBugs_Fixes

Fixes problems found when running latest version of SpotBugs.

5 months agoRemoved test and method isMarkValid() as requested. 381/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 12 Jan 2022 21:20:11 +0000 (13:20 -0800)] 
Removed test and method isMarkValid() as requested.

5 months agoFixed Typo.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 12 Jan 2022 00:06:27 +0000 (16:06 -0800)] 
Fixed Typo.

5 months agoFixes problems found when running latest version of SpotBugs.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 11 Jan 2022 23:16:09 +0000 (15:16 -0800)] 
Fixes problems found when running latest version of SpotBugs.

5 months agoMerge pull request #380 from apache/Cleanup_ArrayOfDoubles
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 8 Jan 2022 00:10:55 +0000 (16:10 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #380 from apache/Cleanup_ArrayOfDoubles

In executing Clover in prep for release I found some obsolete classes in