datasketches-memory.git
13 months agoCleanup javadoc plugin configuration
David Cromberge [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 21:32:25 +0000 (22:32 +0100)] 
Cleanup javadoc plugin configuration

13 months agorevert changes to MemoryCleaner and its test.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 21:27:46 +0000 (14:27 -0700)] 
revert changes to MemoryCleaner and its test.

13 months agofix javadocs and temp fix of Cleaner access problem.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 20:14:55 +0000 (13:14 -0700)] 
fix javadocs and temp fix of Cleaner access problem.

13 months agoFix Javadocs, no code changes.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 17:56:55 +0000 (10:56 -0700)] 
Fix Javadocs, no code changes.

13 months agoMerge pull request #141 from apache/documentation-updates
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 23:07:40 +0000 (16:07 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #141 from apache/documentation-updates

Documentation updates

13 months agoMerge pull request #140 from apache/MinorFixes
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 20:34:11 +0000 (13:34 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #140 from apache/MinorFixes

Minor fixes

13 months agoDocumentation updates 141/head
David Cromberge [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 20:33:55 +0000 (21:33 +0100)] 
Documentation updates

Provide additional usage instructions for users who
may use the library in different configurations.
These scenarious are outlined together with sample
scripts demonstrating the required JPMS arguments for
each, if and when they are applicable.

13 months agoMore improved docs. 140/head
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 20:28:25 +0000 (13:28 -0700)] 
More improved docs.

13 months agoCorrecting javadocs.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 18:40:45 +0000 (11:40 -0700)] 
Correcting javadocs.

13 months agoImproved documentation wrt MemoryRequestServer.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 18:14:02 +0000 (11:14 -0700)] 
Improved documentation wrt MemoryRequestServer.

13 months agoAdjust test print output
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 16:47:57 +0000 (09:47 -0700)] 
Adjust test print output

13 months agoMerge pull request #139 from apache/MajorRefactorAndFix
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 16:02:32 +0000 (09:02 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #139 from apache/MajorRefactorAndFix

Major refactor and fix

13 months agoPossible leak points. Not sure 139/head
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 05:31:36 +0000 (22:31 -0700)] 
Possible leak points. Not sure

13 months agoFix #2, keep trying.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 05:02:44 +0000 (22:02 -0700)] 
Fix #2, keep trying.

13 months agoFixes this issue, but we still have a leak.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 04:45:54 +0000 (21:45 -0700)] 
Fixes this issue, but we still have a leak.

13 months agoMore clean up
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 02:38:07 +0000 (19:38 -0700)] 
More clean up

13 months agoThis passes all tests. Need to check coverage.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 00:40:08 +0000 (17:40 -0700)] 
This passes all tests.  Need to check coverage.

13 months agoInterim commit
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 15 Aug 2021 23:30:01 +0000 (16:30 -0700)] 
Interim commit

13 months agoMerge pull request #137 from apache/CleanUp
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 23:34:01 +0000 (16:34 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #137 from apache/CleanUp

Clean up

13 months agoMerge branch 'master' into CleanUp 137/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 23:30:11 +0000 (16:30 -0700)] 
Merge branch 'master' into CleanUp

13 months agoMerge pull request #138 from apache/addMimicDruidTest
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 23:24:00 +0000 (16:24 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #138 from apache/addMimicDruidTest

This test mimics the Druid issue #11544, but at a much smaller scale.

13 months agoFix 2 issues found during review. 138/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 22:08:23 +0000 (15:08 -0700)] 
Fix 2 issues found during review.

13 months agoAdd more tests.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 21:23:15 +0000 (14:23 -0700)] 
Add more tests.

13 months agoThis test mimics the Druid issue #11544, but at a much smaller scale.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 18:12:22 +0000 (11:12 -0700)] 
This test mimics the Druid issue #11544, but at a much smaller scale.

13 months agoMerge pull request #136 from apache/DS-javaIssue358
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 17:10:23 +0000 (10:10 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #136 from apache/DS-javaIssue358

Ds java issue358

13 months agoAlignment of some comments.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 04:07:42 +0000 (21:07 -0700)] 
Alignment of some comments.

13 months agoPerforms some cleanup: remove trailing spaces, organize imports, etc.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 02:16:49 +0000 (19:16 -0700)] 
Performs some cleanup: remove trailing spaces, organize imports, etc.

No Code changes. Merge after DS-javaIssue358

13 months agoThis commit fixes the datasketches-java issue #358, which was actually 136/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 01:51:28 +0000 (18:51 -0700)] 
This commit fixes the datasketches-java issue #358, which was actually
an issue in Memory, and the Druid issue #11544.

13 months agoThis is to fix DS-Java issue 358, which relates to Druid Issue 11544.
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 8 Aug 2021 23:18:03 +0000 (16:18 -0700)] 
This is to fix DS-Java issue 358, which relates to Druid Issue 11544.

13 months agoAdd license headers.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 7 Aug 2021 18:27:08 +0000 (11:27 -0700)] 
Add license headers.

Compacted line lengths to make raw text more readable. Other minor
edits.

14 months agoMerge pull request #135 from apache/documentation-updates
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 21:33:29 +0000 (14:33 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #135 from apache/documentation-updates

Minor updates to documentation

14 months agocorrected markdown 135/head
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 15:53:43 +0000 (08:53 -0700)] 
corrected markdown

14 months agoMinor updates to documentation
David Cromberge [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 15:25:33 +0000 (16:25 +0100)] 
Minor updates to documentation

14 months agoMinor changes to Readme files.
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 25 Jul 2021 22:15:53 +0000 (15:15 -0700)] 
Minor changes to Readme files.

14 months agoAdd .clover/ to gitignore and to rat excludes
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 22:09:06 +0000 (15:09 -0700)] 
Add .clover/ to gitignore and to rat excludes

14 months agoPlace public accessible, static XxHash redirect into memory. This will
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 19:52:21 +0000 (12:52 -0700)] 
Place public accessible, static XxHash redirect into memory. This will
enable the elimination of the current use of "internal" memory code by
the DS-java component.

14 months agoMerge pull request #134 from apache/remove-matrix-profiles
David Cromberge [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 21:50:54 +0000 (22:50 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #134 from apache/remove-matrix-profiles

Removes profile duplication in the memory-resources module

14 months agoMerge pull request #133 from apache/fix-eclipse-warnings
David Cromberge [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 21:10:08 +0000 (22:10 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #133 from apache/fix-eclipse-warnings

Update pom to fix eclipse warnings

14 months agoMinor change.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 20:01:04 +0000 (13:01 -0700)] 
Minor change.

14 months agoRemoves profile duplication in the memory-resources module 134/head
David Cromberge [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 11:42:25 +0000 (12:42 +0100)] 
Removes profile duplication in the memory-resources module

The ci build now passes the current matrix jdk to the
profile as a variable, where the toolchain is configured
accordingly.

14 months agoMove org.datasketches.hash.MurmurHash3v2.java to
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 04:39:45 +0000 (21:39 -0700)] 
Move org.datasketches.hash.MurmurHash3v2.java to

org.datasketches.memory.MurmurHash3v2.java.

14 months agoUpdate pom to fix eclipse warnings 133/head
David Cromberge [Sat, 17 Jul 2021 14:48:16 +0000 (15:48 +0100)] 
Update pom to fix eclipse warnings

14 months agoFixed formatting
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 17 Jul 2021 00:58:33 +0000 (17:58 -0700)] 
Fixed formatting

14 months agoMerge pull request #132 from apache/fix-build-errors
David Cromberge [Fri, 16 Jul 2021 12:48:52 +0000 (13:48 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #132 from apache/fix-build-errors

Fix build errors for multi-module build

14 months agoRevert "outputDirectory" changes to two POMs. It didn't work. 132/head
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 15 Jul 2021 22:04:57 +0000 (15:04 -0700)] 
Revert "outputDirectory" changes to two POMs.  It didn't work.

14 months agoFix "unused" warning.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 22:08:06 +0000 (15:08 -0700)] 
Fix "unused" warning.

14 months agoDisable test printing to stdOut
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 21:47:28 +0000 (14:47 -0700)] 
Disable test printing to stdOut

14 months agoRe-applying @SuppressWarnings("restriction") where needed.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 21:46:03 +0000 (14:46 -0700)] 
Re-applying @SuppressWarnings("restriction") where needed.

Tried to redirect TestNG output to ${basedir}/target/test-output. But it
didn't work.

14 months agoUpdate documentation and rename memory-tests
David Cromberge [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 14:01:10 +0000 (15:01 +0100)] 
Update documentation and rename memory-tests

14 months agoSimplified gitignore so that .settings/ and target/ are ignored
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 00:53:09 +0000 (17:53 -0700)] 
Simplified gitignore so that .settings/ and target/ are ignored
everywhere.

Removed SuppressWarnings("restriction")

14 months agoClean up SuppressWarnings of "static-access", "resource", "restricted"
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 13 Jul 2021 23:00:22 +0000 (16:00 -0700)] 
Clean up SuppressWarnings of "static-access", "resource", "restricted"
etc.

14 months agoFix spelling error.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 13 Jul 2021 01:43:12 +0000 (18:43 -0700)] 
Fix spelling error.

14 months agoThe GitHub gitignore documentation is a little confusing. To ignore
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 21:42:15 +0000 (14:42 -0700)] 
The GitHub gitignore documentation is a little confusing.  To ignore
.settings and target directories everywhere they need to be specified as

14 months agoAdd restriction suppression to MemoryCleaner
David Cromberge [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 20:52:10 +0000 (21:52 +0100)] 
Add restriction suppression to MemoryCleaner

14 months agoRemove java9-tests module
David Cromberge [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 13:49:30 +0000 (14:49 +0100)] 
Remove java9-tests module

This module does not compile in Eclipse due to additional
checks that Eclipse performs on the module path vs class
path.

14 months agoAddress review comments
David Cromberge [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 12:32:05 +0000 (13:32 +0100)] 
Address review comments

14 months agoFix build errors for multi-module build
David Cromberge [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 23:26:28 +0000 (00:26 +0100)] 
Fix build errors for multi-module build

Multi-module dependency resolution fails for
certain plugins that require dependency resolution
in early phases of the maven lifecycle.  This
behaviour is described in the associated JIRA
ticket: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/MNG-3283

This pull-request aims to address instability
due to dependency resolution by adopting the
suggestion in the linked ticket above.

14 months agoMerge pull request #131 from apache/support-newer-java-versions
David Cromberge [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 22:03:51 +0000 (23:03 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #131 from apache/support-newer-java-versions

Support newer java versions

14 months agoRemove maven help plugin and align poms 131/head
David Cromberge [Mon, 5 Jul 2021 14:16:23 +0000 (15:16 +0100)] 
Remove maven help plugin and align poms

15 months agoInstructions for javadoc command
David Cromberge [Wed, 30 Jun 2021 22:32:36 +0000 (23:32 +0100)] 
Instructions for javadoc command

15 months agoExplicit toolchain version in github actions
David Cromberge [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 15:30:35 +0000 (16:30 +0100)] 
Explicit toolchain version in github actions

15 months agoRemove additonal matrix tests
David Cromberge [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 14:59:34 +0000 (15:59 +0100)] 
Remove additonal matrix tests

15 months agoAdditional matrix test versions
David Cromberge [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 14:52:34 +0000 (15:52 +0100)] 
Additional matrix test versions

15 months agoUse maven aggregation over inheritance
David Cromberge [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 14:38:27 +0000 (15:38 +0100)] 
Use maven aggregation over inheritance

This prevents the memory assembly artifacts depending on the root
module.  However, this configuration duplicates some properties
between the root and assembly POM files.

15 months agoSupport maven nexus deployment
David Cromberge [Wed, 23 Jun 2021 10:19:47 +0000 (11:19 +0100)] 
Support maven nexus deployment

15 months agoIntroduce transient dependency scope
David Cromberge [Tue, 22 Jun 2021 21:05:17 +0000 (22:05 +0100)] 
Introduce transient dependency scope

15 months agoRemove unused add-opens from assembly tests
David Cromberge [Tue, 22 Jun 2021 09:04:26 +0000 (10:04 +0100)] 
Remove unused add-opens from assembly tests

15 months agoUpdate dependencies
David Cromberge [Mon, 21 Jun 2021 20:37:35 +0000 (21:37 +0100)] 
Update dependencies

15 months agoCheckstyle fixes and formatting changes
David Cromberge [Mon, 21 Jun 2021 20:24:33 +0000 (21:24 +0100)] 
Checkstyle fixes and formatting changes

15 months agoCorrect toolchains location
David Cromberge [Mon, 21 Jun 2021 19:08:37 +0000 (20:08 +0100)] 
Correct toolchains location

15 months agoAdd initial LGTM project settings
David Cromberge [Fri, 18 Jun 2021 14:47:53 +0000 (15:47 +0100)] 
Add initial LGTM project settings

15 months agoAdjust activation string for strict profile
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 22:07:42 +0000 (23:07 +0100)] 
Adjust activation string for strict profile

15 months agoAdd java 9 toolchain
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 20:47:23 +0000 (21:47 +0100)] 
Add java 9 toolchain

15 months agoUse Github actions matrix build
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 16:33:54 +0000 (17:33 +0100)] 
Use Github actions matrix build

This allows us to verify that the MR-Jar works across various
JVMs by running the unit test suite across each Java version.

15 months agoUse aggregate test coverage report for coveralls
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 16:33:22 +0000 (17:33 +0100)] 
Use aggregate test coverage report for coveralls

15 months agoRemove slf4j dependency
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 16:24:20 +0000 (17:24 +0100)] 
Remove slf4j dependency

15 months agoUpdate IDE documentation
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 16:17:03 +0000 (17:17 +0100)] 
Update IDE documentation

15 months agoAdd support for Java 11
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 15:44:13 +0000 (16:44 +0100)] 
Add support for Java 11

15 months agoUse dynamic profiles when testing the assembled JAR
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 13:56:11 +0000 (14:56 +0100)] 
Use dynamic profiles when testing the assembled JAR

This prevents unsupported runtime flags being used in Java8
during test execution using the Maven surefire plugin.

15 months agoAdd datasketches-memory-tests maven module
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 13:10:22 +0000 (14:10 +0100)] 
Add datasketches-memory-tests maven module

This module runs the test suite against the packaged JAR, using the
java version defined by the environment that runs maven.

15 months agoAdd support for Java Platform Module System
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 10:33:22 +0000 (11:33 +0100)] 
Add support for Java Platform Module System

Fixes compiler error where internals are not accessible to java9
related code.  Furthermore, a JPMS module is defined for
the datasketches-memory, that can be used to narrow any additional
compiler or runtime arguments for the JPMS.

15 months agoAdd support for Java 9 and Java 10
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 03:11:26 +0000 (04:11 +0100)] 
Add support for Java 9 and Java 10

Extract the platform specific features to the java9 maven module:
- reference cleaner
- nio bits fields
- virtual machine memory fields

This makes use of the new MR-jar to coexist with the java8 equivalents.

15 months agoAdd support for Multi-Release JAR assembly
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 02:47:03 +0000 (03:47 +0100)] 
Add support for Multi-Release JAR assembly

Extend the assembled JAR to allow multiple, Java-release-specific
versions of class files to coexist in a single archive.

See JEP-238.

15 months agoAdd java9 module scaffolding
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 02:23:51 +0000 (03:23 +0100)] 
Add java9 module scaffolding

15 months agoAdd datasketches-memory module
David Cromberge [Wed, 16 Jun 2021 22:01:49 +0000 (23:01 +0100)] 
Add datasketches-memory module

This module depends on all other modules in the project, and is used
to assemble JARs for installation to a local repository or deployment
to a remote repository.

15 months agoSplit java8 maven module
David Cromberge [Mon, 14 Jun 2021 22:25:31 +0000 (23:25 +0100)] 
Split java8 maven module

Separate the java8 source and tests into separate maven
modules.

15 months agoIntroduce maven multi-module configuration
David Cromberge [Mon, 14 Jun 2021 21:28:38 +0000 (22:28 +0100)] 
Introduce maven multi-module configuration

The purpose of this change is to create a release that is usable
from multilpe Java versions.  This initially supports parity
with the current release, which is now baselined to Java8.

15 months agoSet version to 2.0.0-SNAPSHOT
David Cromberge [Fri, 11 Jun 2021 13:07:19 +0000 (14:07 +0100)] 
Set version to 2.0.0-SNAPSHOT

15 months agoMerge pull request #130 from apache/AddExceptions
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 9 Jun 2021 22:12:00 +0000 (15:12 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #130 from apache/AddExceptions

Cleanup exceptions

15 months agoUpdate javadoc for WritableDirectHandleImpl. 130/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 9 Jun 2021 21:44:35 +0000 (14:44 -0700)] 
Update javadoc for WritableDirectHandleImpl.

15 months agoMinor fixes to checkstyle
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 9 Jun 2021 21:28:15 +0000 (14:28 -0700)] 
Minor fixes to checkstyle

15 months agoMore Exceptions cleanup.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 19:21:03 +0000 (12:21 -0700)] 
More Exceptions cleanup.

15 months agoInterim, fixed java version check.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 04:48:59 +0000 (21:48 -0700)] 
Interim, fixed java version check.

Other missing exception specifications.

15 months agoInterim Code cleanup around exception handling.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 5 Jun 2021 17:35:39 +0000 (10:35 -0700)] 
Interim Code cleanup around exception handling.

16 months agointerim
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 3 Jun 2021 21:48:08 +0000 (14:48 -0700)] 
interim

16 months agoMerge pull request #129 from apache/CreateInternal2
Lee Rhodes [Fri, 28 May 2021 21:49:46 +0000 (14:49 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #129 from apache/CreateInternal2

Create internal2

16 months agoSome changes as a result of the PR Review. 129/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 25 May 2021 01:44:49 +0000 (18:44 -0700)] 
Some changes as a result of the PR Review.

16 months agoRefactoring complete.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 18 May 2021 19:55:42 +0000 (12:55 -0700)] 
Refactoring complete.

Move all main classes to internal package. Create interface proxies for
the memory package.  This creates possibility to restrict access to
internal package using JPMS in JDK 9+.

All tests pass and the vast majority of tests are black-box tests.

16 months agoFinished refactoring Buffer tree, which completes main.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 18 May 2021 03:55:06 +0000 (20:55 -0700)] 
Finished refactoring Buffer tree, which completes main.

Next to refactor the tests. Lots of errors, which is expected.

16 months agoInterim commit. Completed refactoring of Memory hierarchy.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 17 May 2021 23:48:52 +0000 (16:48 -0700)] 
Interim commit. Completed refactoring of Memory hierarchy.

Buffer hierarchy is not done, many errors in test. Main compiles clean,
no warnings.