datasketches-memory.git
13 months agoWIP - Add build script to compile JAR for single JVM
David Cromberge [Wed, 25 Aug 2021 18:42:17 +0000 (19:42 +0100)] 
WIP - Add build script to compile JAR for single JVM

13 months agoRestore memory dependency in resources module
David Cromberge [Tue, 31 Aug 2021 21:48:46 +0000 (22:48 +0100)] 
Restore memory dependency in resources module

13 months agoChanges to fix circular jar dependencies.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 30 Aug 2021 20:46:57 +0000 (13:46 -0700)] 
Changes to fix circular jar dependencies.

Also added config to always save text results under target/.

Also added a timestamp.

13 months agoRemove SNAPSHOT version 2.0.0-RC1
David Cromberge [Thu, 19 Aug 2021 21:23:59 +0000 (22:23 +0100)] 
Remove SNAPSHOT version

13 months agoMerge pull request #147 from apache/dependency-updates
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 19 Aug 2021 16:55:50 +0000 (09:55 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #147 from apache/dependency-updates

Dependency updates

13 months agoUpdate README for strict tests 147/head
David Cromberge [Thu, 19 Aug 2021 16:00:48 +0000 (17:00 +0100)] 
Update README for strict tests

13 months agoMerge pull request #146 from apache/release-preparation
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 19 Aug 2021 15:56:39 +0000 (08:56 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #146 from apache/release-preparation

Checkstyle and SpotBugs fixes

13 months agoPlugin dependency updates
David Cromberge [Thu, 19 Aug 2021 15:45:51 +0000 (16:45 +0100)] 
Plugin dependency updates

13 months agoCheckstyle and SpotBugs fixes 146/head
David Cromberge [Thu, 19 Aug 2021 14:49:34 +0000 (15:49 +0100)] 
Checkstyle and SpotBugs fixes

The following violations were corrected:

- marking fields and parameters as final
- missing default cases in switch statement

Note that there are 'violations' in the MurmerHashV3 class concerning
switch fall-throughs.  This is left as-is.

13 months agoMerge pull request #145 from apache/minor-doc-fixes
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 18 Aug 2021 19:19:56 +0000 (12:19 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #145 from apache/minor-doc-fixes

Minor doc fixes.

13 months agoMinor doc fixes. 145/head
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 18 Aug 2021 18:15:25 +0000 (11:15 -0700)] 
Minor doc fixes.

13 months agoMerge pull request #144 from apache/documentation-updates
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 18 Aug 2021 17:11:38 +0000 (10:11 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #144 from apache/documentation-updates

Add instructions for local MR-jar testing

13 months agoAdd instructions for local MR-jar testing 144/head
David Cromberge [Wed, 18 Aug 2021 16:25:06 +0000 (17:25 +0100)] 
Add instructions for local MR-jar testing

Verified that the C/I tests actually do make use of the `sun.nio.ch`
package for memory-mapped files. Removing the runtime JPMS flag for
this package from Surefire results in a warning, since the tests
use the classpath and not the module path.  Using the module path
in the tests would require a local `module-info.java` in the tests,
which would present problems for Java8.

Using Datasketches Memory for memory-mapped in a JPMS-enabled user
application requires explicit opens access to the `sun.nio.ch` package
otherwise the user application will exit with a hard failure instead
of a warning.

13 months agoMerge pull request #142 from apache/update-license
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 22:12:38 +0000 (15:12 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #142 from apache/update-license

Update license code paths for new module structure

13 months agoInclude correct LICENSE and NOTICE in assemblies 142/head
David Cromberge [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 22:09:42 +0000 (23:09 +0100)] 
Include correct LICENSE and NOTICE in assemblies

13 months agoMerge pull request #143 from apache/Fix_javadocs
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 22:02:54 +0000 (15:02 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #143 from apache/Fix_javadocs

Fix Javadocs, no code changes.

13 months agoFix javadoc in UnsafeUtil 143/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 21:39:16 +0000 (14:39 -0700)] 
Fix javadoc in UnsafeUtil

13 months agoCleanup javadoc plugin configuration
David Cromberge [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 21:32:25 +0000 (22:32 +0100)] 
Cleanup javadoc plugin configuration

13 months agorevert changes to MemoryCleaner and its test.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 21:27:46 +0000 (14:27 -0700)] 
revert changes to MemoryCleaner and its test.

13 months agofix javadocs and temp fix of Cleaner access problem.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 20:14:55 +0000 (13:14 -0700)] 
fix javadocs and temp fix of Cleaner access problem.

13 months agoFix Javadocs, no code changes.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 17:56:55 +0000 (10:56 -0700)] 
Fix Javadocs, no code changes.

13 months agoUpdate license code paths for new module structure
David Cromberge [Tue, 17 Aug 2021 14:14:40 +0000 (15:14 +0100)] 
Update license code paths for new module structure

13 months agoMerge pull request #141 from apache/documentation-updates
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 23:07:40 +0000 (16:07 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #141 from apache/documentation-updates

Documentation updates

13 months agoMerge pull request #140 from apache/MinorFixes
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 20:34:11 +0000 (13:34 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #140 from apache/MinorFixes

Minor fixes

13 months agoDocumentation updates 141/head
David Cromberge [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 20:33:55 +0000 (21:33 +0100)] 
Documentation updates

Provide additional usage instructions for users who
may use the library in different configurations.
These scenarious are outlined together with sample
scripts demonstrating the required JPMS arguments for
each, if and when they are applicable.

13 months agoMore improved docs. 140/head
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 20:28:25 +0000 (13:28 -0700)] 
More improved docs.

13 months agoCorrecting javadocs.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 18:40:45 +0000 (11:40 -0700)] 
Correcting javadocs.

13 months agoImproved documentation wrt MemoryRequestServer.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 18:14:02 +0000 (11:14 -0700)] 
Improved documentation wrt MemoryRequestServer.

13 months agoAdjust test print output
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 16:47:57 +0000 (09:47 -0700)] 
Adjust test print output

13 months agoMerge pull request #139 from apache/MajorRefactorAndFix
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 16:02:32 +0000 (09:02 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #139 from apache/MajorRefactorAndFix

Major refactor and fix

13 months agoPossible leak points. Not sure 139/head
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 05:31:36 +0000 (22:31 -0700)] 
Possible leak points. Not sure

13 months agoFix #2, keep trying.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 05:02:44 +0000 (22:02 -0700)] 
Fix #2, keep trying.

13 months agoFixes this issue, but we still have a leak.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 04:45:54 +0000 (21:45 -0700)] 
Fixes this issue, but we still have a leak.

13 months agoMore clean up
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 02:38:07 +0000 (19:38 -0700)] 
More clean up

13 months agoThis passes all tests. Need to check coverage.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 00:40:08 +0000 (17:40 -0700)] 
This passes all tests.  Need to check coverage.

13 months agoInterim commit
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 15 Aug 2021 23:30:01 +0000 (16:30 -0700)] 
Interim commit

13 months agoMerge pull request #137 from apache/CleanUp
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 23:34:01 +0000 (16:34 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #137 from apache/CleanUp

Clean up

13 months agoMerge branch 'master' into CleanUp 137/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 23:30:11 +0000 (16:30 -0700)] 
Merge branch 'master' into CleanUp

13 months agoMerge pull request #138 from apache/addMimicDruidTest
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 23:24:00 +0000 (16:24 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #138 from apache/addMimicDruidTest

This test mimics the Druid issue #11544, but at a much smaller scale.

13 months agoFix 2 issues found during review. 138/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 22:08:23 +0000 (15:08 -0700)] 
Fix 2 issues found during review.

13 months agoAdd more tests.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 21:23:15 +0000 (14:23 -0700)] 
Add more tests.

13 months agoThis test mimics the Druid issue #11544, but at a much smaller scale.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 18:12:22 +0000 (11:12 -0700)] 
This test mimics the Druid issue #11544, but at a much smaller scale.

13 months agoMerge pull request #136 from apache/DS-javaIssue358
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 17:10:23 +0000 (10:10 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #136 from apache/DS-javaIssue358

Ds java issue358

13 months agoAlignment of some comments.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 04:07:42 +0000 (21:07 -0700)] 
Alignment of some comments.

13 months agoPerforms some cleanup: remove trailing spaces, organize imports, etc.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 02:16:49 +0000 (19:16 -0700)] 
Performs some cleanup: remove trailing spaces, organize imports, etc.

No Code changes. Merge after DS-javaIssue358

13 months agoThis commit fixes the datasketches-java issue #358, which was actually 136/head
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 01:51:28 +0000 (18:51 -0700)] 
This commit fixes the datasketches-java issue #358, which was actually
an issue in Memory, and the Druid issue #11544.

13 months agoThis is to fix DS-Java issue 358, which relates to Druid Issue 11544.
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 8 Aug 2021 23:18:03 +0000 (16:18 -0700)] 
This is to fix DS-Java issue 358, which relates to Druid Issue 11544.

13 months agoAdd license headers.
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 7 Aug 2021 18:27:08 +0000 (11:27 -0700)] 
Add license headers.

Compacted line lengths to make raw text more readable. Other minor
edits.

13 months agoMerge pull request #135 from apache/documentation-updates
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 21:33:29 +0000 (14:33 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #135 from apache/documentation-updates

Minor updates to documentation

14 months agocorrected markdown 135/head
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 15:53:43 +0000 (08:53 -0700)] 
corrected markdown

14 months agoMinor updates to documentation
David Cromberge [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 15:25:33 +0000 (16:25 +0100)] 
Minor updates to documentation

14 months agoMinor changes to Readme files.
Lee Rhodes [Sun, 25 Jul 2021 22:15:53 +0000 (15:15 -0700)] 
Minor changes to Readme files.

14 months agoAdd .clover/ to gitignore and to rat excludes
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 22:09:06 +0000 (15:09 -0700)] 
Add .clover/ to gitignore and to rat excludes

14 months agoPlace public accessible, static XxHash redirect into memory. This will
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 19:52:21 +0000 (12:52 -0700)] 
Place public accessible, static XxHash redirect into memory. This will
enable the elimination of the current use of "internal" memory code by
the DS-java component.

14 months agoMerge pull request #134 from apache/remove-matrix-profiles
David Cromberge [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 21:50:54 +0000 (22:50 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #134 from apache/remove-matrix-profiles

Removes profile duplication in the memory-resources module

14 months agoMerge pull request #133 from apache/fix-eclipse-warnings
David Cromberge [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 21:10:08 +0000 (22:10 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #133 from apache/fix-eclipse-warnings

Update pom to fix eclipse warnings

14 months agoMinor change.
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 20:01:04 +0000 (13:01 -0700)] 
Minor change.

14 months agoRemoves profile duplication in the memory-resources module 134/head
David Cromberge [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 11:42:25 +0000 (12:42 +0100)] 
Removes profile duplication in the memory-resources module

The ci build now passes the current matrix jdk to the
profile as a variable, where the toolchain is configured
accordingly.

14 months agoMove org.datasketches.hash.MurmurHash3v2.java to
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 04:39:45 +0000 (21:39 -0700)] 
Move org.datasketches.hash.MurmurHash3v2.java to

org.datasketches.memory.MurmurHash3v2.java.

14 months agoUpdate pom to fix eclipse warnings 133/head
David Cromberge [Sat, 17 Jul 2021 14:48:16 +0000 (15:48 +0100)] 
Update pom to fix eclipse warnings

14 months agoFixed formatting
Lee Rhodes [Sat, 17 Jul 2021 00:58:33 +0000 (17:58 -0700)] 
Fixed formatting

14 months agoMerge pull request #132 from apache/fix-build-errors
David Cromberge [Fri, 16 Jul 2021 12:48:52 +0000 (13:48 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #132 from apache/fix-build-errors

Fix build errors for multi-module build

14 months agoRevert "outputDirectory" changes to two POMs. It didn't work. 132/head
Lee Rhodes [Thu, 15 Jul 2021 22:04:57 +0000 (15:04 -0700)] 
Revert "outputDirectory" changes to two POMs.  It didn't work.

14 months agoFix "unused" warning.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 22:08:06 +0000 (15:08 -0700)] 
Fix "unused" warning.

14 months agoDisable test printing to stdOut
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 21:47:28 +0000 (14:47 -0700)] 
Disable test printing to stdOut

14 months agoRe-applying @SuppressWarnings("restriction") where needed.
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 21:46:03 +0000 (14:46 -0700)] 
Re-applying @SuppressWarnings("restriction") where needed.

Tried to redirect TestNG output to ${basedir}/target/test-output. But it
didn't work.

14 months agoUpdate documentation and rename memory-tests
David Cromberge [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 14:01:10 +0000 (15:01 +0100)] 
Update documentation and rename memory-tests

14 months agoSimplified gitignore so that .settings/ and target/ are ignored
Lee Rhodes [Wed, 14 Jul 2021 00:53:09 +0000 (17:53 -0700)] 
Simplified gitignore so that .settings/ and target/ are ignored
everywhere.

Removed SuppressWarnings("restriction")

14 months agoClean up SuppressWarnings of "static-access", "resource", "restricted"
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 13 Jul 2021 23:00:22 +0000 (16:00 -0700)] 
Clean up SuppressWarnings of "static-access", "resource", "restricted"
etc.

14 months agoFix spelling error.
Lee Rhodes [Tue, 13 Jul 2021 01:43:12 +0000 (18:43 -0700)] 
Fix spelling error.

14 months agoThe GitHub gitignore documentation is a little confusing. To ignore
Lee Rhodes [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 21:42:15 +0000 (14:42 -0700)] 
The GitHub gitignore documentation is a little confusing.  To ignore
.settings and target directories everywhere they need to be specified as

14 months agoAdd restriction suppression to MemoryCleaner
David Cromberge [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 20:52:10 +0000 (21:52 +0100)] 
Add restriction suppression to MemoryCleaner

14 months agoRemove java9-tests module
David Cromberge [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 13:49:30 +0000 (14:49 +0100)] 
Remove java9-tests module

This module does not compile in Eclipse due to additional
checks that Eclipse performs on the module path vs class
path.

14 months agoAddress review comments
David Cromberge [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 12:32:05 +0000 (13:32 +0100)] 
Address review comments

14 months agoFix build errors for multi-module build
David Cromberge [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 23:26:28 +0000 (00:26 +0100)] 
Fix build errors for multi-module build

Multi-module dependency resolution fails for
certain plugins that require dependency resolution
in early phases of the maven lifecycle.  This
behaviour is described in the associated JIRA
ticket: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/MNG-3283

This pull-request aims to address instability
due to dependency resolution by adopting the
suggestion in the linked ticket above.

14 months agoMerge pull request #131 from apache/support-newer-java-versions
David Cromberge [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 22:03:51 +0000 (23:03 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #131 from apache/support-newer-java-versions

Support newer java versions

14 months agoRemove maven help plugin and align poms 131/head
David Cromberge [Mon, 5 Jul 2021 14:16:23 +0000 (15:16 +0100)] 
Remove maven help plugin and align poms

15 months agoInstructions for javadoc command
David Cromberge [Wed, 30 Jun 2021 22:32:36 +0000 (23:32 +0100)] 
Instructions for javadoc command

15 months agoExplicit toolchain version in github actions
David Cromberge [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 15:30:35 +0000 (16:30 +0100)] 
Explicit toolchain version in github actions

15 months agoRemove additonal matrix tests
David Cromberge [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 14:59:34 +0000 (15:59 +0100)] 
Remove additonal matrix tests

15 months agoAdditional matrix test versions
David Cromberge [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 14:52:34 +0000 (15:52 +0100)] 
Additional matrix test versions

15 months agoUse maven aggregation over inheritance
David Cromberge [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 14:38:27 +0000 (15:38 +0100)] 
Use maven aggregation over inheritance

This prevents the memory assembly artifacts depending on the root
module.  However, this configuration duplicates some properties
between the root and assembly POM files.

15 months agoSupport maven nexus deployment
David Cromberge [Wed, 23 Jun 2021 10:19:47 +0000 (11:19 +0100)] 
Support maven nexus deployment

15 months agoIntroduce transient dependency scope
David Cromberge [Tue, 22 Jun 2021 21:05:17 +0000 (22:05 +0100)] 
Introduce transient dependency scope

15 months agoRemove unused add-opens from assembly tests
David Cromberge [Tue, 22 Jun 2021 09:04:26 +0000 (10:04 +0100)] 
Remove unused add-opens from assembly tests

15 months agoUpdate dependencies
David Cromberge [Mon, 21 Jun 2021 20:37:35 +0000 (21:37 +0100)] 
Update dependencies

15 months agoCheckstyle fixes and formatting changes
David Cromberge [Mon, 21 Jun 2021 20:24:33 +0000 (21:24 +0100)] 
Checkstyle fixes and formatting changes

15 months agoCorrect toolchains location
David Cromberge [Mon, 21 Jun 2021 19:08:37 +0000 (20:08 +0100)] 
Correct toolchains location

15 months agoAdd initial LGTM project settings
David Cromberge [Fri, 18 Jun 2021 14:47:53 +0000 (15:47 +0100)] 
Add initial LGTM project settings

15 months agoAdjust activation string for strict profile
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 22:07:42 +0000 (23:07 +0100)] 
Adjust activation string for strict profile

15 months agoAdd java 9 toolchain
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 20:47:23 +0000 (21:47 +0100)] 
Add java 9 toolchain

15 months agoUse Github actions matrix build
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 16:33:54 +0000 (17:33 +0100)] 
Use Github actions matrix build

This allows us to verify that the MR-Jar works across various
JVMs by running the unit test suite across each Java version.

15 months agoUse aggregate test coverage report for coveralls
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 16:33:22 +0000 (17:33 +0100)] 
Use aggregate test coverage report for coveralls

15 months agoRemove slf4j dependency
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 16:24:20 +0000 (17:24 +0100)] 
Remove slf4j dependency

15 months agoUpdate IDE documentation
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 16:17:03 +0000 (17:17 +0100)] 
Update IDE documentation

15 months agoAdd support for Java 11
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 15:44:13 +0000 (16:44 +0100)] 
Add support for Java 11

15 months agoUse dynamic profiles when testing the assembled JAR
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 13:56:11 +0000 (14:56 +0100)] 
Use dynamic profiles when testing the assembled JAR

This prevents unsupported runtime flags being used in Java8
during test execution using the Maven surefire plugin.

15 months agoAdd datasketches-memory-tests maven module
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 13:10:22 +0000 (14:10 +0100)] 
Add datasketches-memory-tests maven module

This module runs the test suite against the packaged JAR, using the
java version defined by the environment that runs maven.

15 months agoAdd support for Java Platform Module System
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 10:33:22 +0000 (11:33 +0100)] 
Add support for Java Platform Module System

Fixes compiler error where internals are not accessible to java9
related code.  Furthermore, a JPMS module is defined for
the datasketches-memory, that can be used to narrow any additional
compiler or runtime arguments for the JPMS.

15 months agoAdd support for Java 9 and Java 10
David Cromberge [Thu, 17 Jun 2021 03:11:26 +0000 (04:11 +0100)] 
Add support for Java 9 and Java 10

Extract the platform specific features to the java9 maven module:
- reference cleaner
- nio bits fields
- virtual machine memory fields

This makes use of the new MR-jar to coexist with the java8 equivalents.