Move site build artifacts to separate site branch
authorTobias Bouschen <tobias.bouschen@googlemail.com>
Sun, 3 Jan 2021 16:32:27 +0000 (17:32 +0100)
committerTobias Bouschen <tobias.bouschen@googlemail.com>
Thu, 21 Jan 2021 19:50:51 +0000 (20:50 +0100)
commit6bf63dda9f0e6a2120b0380a553ebdea52f7f5b7
tree0db3b45b674df632a5d4c049bcac0e2b956f567d
parentfc7dbdebfa8d07991a7862bf6153d72ed9d4a7f0
Move site build artifacts to separate site branch

Adjusts the deploy action to create a new orphan branch 'publish'
containing only the site build artifacts and site configuration files in
the root directory. This branch is then force-pushed to the repo,
replacing the previous site build.

This approach avoids having to include the site artifacts in the master
branch, reducing the repository size and avoiding including "deploy"
commits in the main history.

Creates a new '.asf.yaml.publish' that will be used to publish the site
branch. Moves the publishing configuration from the main configuration
file to the publishing configuration file. Changes the branch id to
'publish'. Drops the 'staging' configuration as it reportedly does not
function correctly. Furthermore, the current content of the 'staging'
branch is no longer deployable with the new setup as it still uses the
old site deploy scheme.

Removes the '.htaccess' configuration as the redirection is no longer
necessary now that the resources are hosted in the root directory.
.asf.yaml
.asf.yaml.publish [new file with mode: 0644]
.github/workflows/deploy-site.yml
.htaccess [deleted file]