incubator-brooklyn-site.git
4 years agoMerge and close #18 master
Richard Downer [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 17:52:19 +0000 (17:52 +0000)] 
Merge and close #18

4 years agowipe everything and replace with a single README pointing at new merged location 18/head
Alex Heneveld [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 02:06:09 +0000 (02:06 +0000)] 
wipe everything and replace with a single README pointing at new merged location

4 years agoexplicitly set utf-8 encoding, just in case needed
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 22:12:39 +0000 (22:12 +0000)] 
explicitly set utf-8 encoding, just in case needed

4 years agoaddress @rdowner's code review comments
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 17:25:21 +0000 (17:25 +0000)] 
address @rdowner's code review comments

4 years agoplace website files in root during production build, and fix ruby errors
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 16:25:58 +0000 (16:25 +0000)] 
place website files in root during production build, and fix ruby errors

4 years agoconvert site-structure links to be relative paths (preferred)
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 15:36:44 +0000 (15:36 +0000)] 
convert site-structure links to be relative paths (preferred)

4 years agomove things to website/ subdir, update site-structure plugin to work better with...
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 13:01:41 +0000 (13:01 +0000)] 
move things to website/ subdir, update site-structure plugin to work better with that, and have placeholder index.md in root

4 years agoreplace site.url with site.path.website
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 12:49:26 +0000 (12:49 +0000)] 
replace site.url with site.path.website

4 years agoadd config.yaml site.path.website var in prep for merger to brooklyn main codebase
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 12:39:22 +0000 (12:39 +0000)] 
add config.yaml  site.path.website  var in prep for merger to brooklyn main codebase

4 years agorename theme.css to website.css; remove unused new-style.css; and move bootstrap...
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 12:33:58 +0000 (12:33 +0000)] 
rename theme.css to website.css; remove unused new-style.css; and move bootstrap-theme to deps

4 years agoremove link to (absent) css map file for bootstrap
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 12:31:47 +0000 (12:31 +0000)] 
remove link to (absent) css map file for bootstrap

4 years agoadd back in underscore to custom JS dir, because it is hardcoded in catalog html...
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 11:56:45 +0000 (11:56 +0000)] 
add back in underscore to custom JS dir, because it is hardcoded in catalog html files

4 years agoremove selectNav; appears not to be linked anywhere
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 11:56:31 +0000 (11:56 +0000)] 
remove selectNav; appears not to be linked anywhere

4 years agomove things to _build dir, and move fonts to deps/bootstrap-fonts/
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 11:52:06 +0000 (11:52 +0000)] 
move things to _build dir, and move fonts to deps/bootstrap-fonts/

4 years agorename layouts to website-*
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 11:10:57 +0000 (11:10 +0000)] 
rename layouts to website-*

4 years agomove Gemfile info to _scripts directory
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 6 Oct 2014 21:19:57 +0000 (14:19 -0700)] 
move Gemfile info to _scripts directory

4 years agoimprove dev experience working with this site (offline and simpler)
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 6 Oct 2014 21:08:43 +0000 (14:08 -0700)] 
improve dev experience working with this site (offline and simpler)

plugin which allows using local files so we can develop offline, used in several places;
and tweak the config instructions and scripting mechanism to use this, and not to need scripts for debug usage, and to have fewer files in root

4 years agostarting to refactor to put things in subdirectories
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 6 Oct 2014 19:57:14 +0000 (12:57 -0700)] 
starting to refactor to put things in subdirectories

testing with just the learnmore pages

4 years agoThis closes #17
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 13:03:43 +0000 (13:03 +0000)] 
This closes #17

4 years agoUpdate index.md 17/head
Chris Forbes [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 12:59:49 +0000 (12:59 +0000)] 
Update index.md

Small alteration to a sentence: a word was missing.

4 years agoThis closes #15.
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 10:42:23 +0000 (10:42 +0000)] 
This closes #15.

4 years agoThis closes #14.
Alex Heneveld [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 10:41:32 +0000 (10:41 +0000)] 
This closes #14.

4 years agoMerge and close #16
Richard Downer [Wed, 10 Dec 2014 15:40:11 +0000 (15:40 +0000)] 
Merge and close #16

4 years agoGetting started updates following user feedback 16/head
Richard Downer [Wed, 10 Dec 2014 15:34:57 +0000 (15:34 +0000)] 
Getting started updates following user feedback

4 years agoNav submenus also include the top item 15/head
Richard Downer [Wed, 26 Nov 2014 16:42:34 +0000 (16:42 +0000)] 
Nav submenus also include the top item

Previously, hovering over the 'documentation' nav item (as an example)
would reveal a pop-down menu. But it was not clear that the
'documentation' item itself had a page, meaning sometimes people would
miss the content. This adds the 'documentation' item itself to the
pop-down menu.

4 years agoAllow menus to include hyperlinks
Richard Downer [Wed, 26 Nov 2014 16:28:44 +0000 (16:28 +0000)] 
Allow menus to include hyperlinks

Menus were only allowed to link to other Jekyll-managed pages. This
allows hyperlinks to non-Jekyll-managed pages to be used. Currently, the
links must still be on the same site.

4 years agoServer install doc - fix broken curl command 14/head
Richard Downer [Thu, 9 Oct 2014 09:33:03 +0000 (10:33 +0100)] 
Server install doc - fix broken curl command

4 years agoMerge and close #13
Richard Downer [Wed, 1 Oct 2014 09:16:28 +0000 (10:16 +0100)] 
Merge and close #13

4 years agoMerge and close #12 by passive consensus
Richard Downer [Wed, 1 Oct 2014 09:16:23 +0000 (10:16 +0100)] 
Merge and close #12 by passive consensus

4 years agoEntries in blueprints list can be filtered by type 13/head
Sam Corbett [Wed, 24 Sep 2014 15:43:15 +0000 (16:43 +0100)] 
Entries in blueprints list can be filtered by type

4 years agoRemove debugging text from site_structure.rb 12/head
Richard Downer [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 09:56:24 +0000 (10:56 +0100)] 
Remove debugging text from site_structure.rb

Debugging messages inadvertantly left in this plugin causing unwanted
console output during build.

4 years agoUpdate .gitignore
Richard Downer [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 09:55:08 +0000 (10:55 +0100)] 
Update .gitignore

4 years agoAllow the `jekyll server` command to work
Richard Downer [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 09:53:08 +0000 (10:53 +0100)] 
Allow the `jekyll server` command to work

Changes the default configuration to allow the `jekyll server` command
to work as expected. Preserves the behaviour of the existing scripts
`build-preview` and `build-for-publication`.

4 years agoMerge and close PR #11 with amendments
Richard Downer [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 16:19:10 +0000 (17:19 +0100)] 
Merge and close PR #11 with amendments

Conflicts:
documentation.md

4 years agoAmendments to PR #11
Richard Downer [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 16:16:35 +0000 (17:16 +0100)] 
Amendments to PR #11

4 years agoMerge #11
Richard Downer [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 15:52:29 +0000 (16:52 +0100)] 
Merge #11

4 years agobrooklyn-55 issue 11/head
Andrea Turli [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 11:52:47 +0000 (13:52 +0200)] 
brooklyn-55 issue

4 years agoMerge and close #9
Richard Downer [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 13:38:17 +0000 (14:38 +0100)] 
Merge and close #9

4 years agoMerge and close #8 (passive consensus)
Richard Downer [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 13:38:10 +0000 (14:38 +0100)] 
Merge and close #8 (passive consensus)

4 years agoWe are not grocers. 9/head
Sam Corbett [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 11:17:29 +0000 (12:17 +0100)] 
We are not grocers.

4 years agoMinor tweaks to learnmore page. Improves layout on smaller devices.
Sam Corbett [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 11:13:06 +0000 (12:13 +0100)] 
Minor tweaks to learnmore page. Improves layout on smaller devices.

4 years agoAdds a glossary page with some basic definitions
Sam Corbett [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 10:56:49 +0000 (11:56 +0100)] 
Adds a glossary page with some basic definitions

4 years agoIntegrate links to the catalog from the front page 8/head
Richard Downer [Fri, 12 Sep 2014 13:30:02 +0000 (14:30 +0100)] 
Integrate links to the catalog from the front page

Change some of the text on the front page to link to the new entity catalog page (interim step to getting the catalog page fully integrated into the menu structure)

4 years agoMerge and close PR #5, as amended
Richard Downer [Mon, 8 Sep 2014 10:48:22 +0000 (11:48 +0100)] 
Merge and close PR #5, as amended

4 years agoReplace 'http' links in catalog files
Richard Downer [Mon, 8 Sep 2014 10:43:21 +0000 (11:43 +0100)] 
Replace 'http' links in catalog files

All Apache websites are now https; modern browsers will not load http
resources referenced from https pages. Switch jquery href to Google
Hosted Libraries version; add underscore-min.js to main site js folder
and adjust links.

4 years agoManually add Brooklyn-generated catalog HTML 5/head
Alasdair Hodge [Sun, 7 Sep 2014 12:02:09 +0000 (13:02 +0100)] 
Manually add Brooklyn-generated catalog HTML

4 years agoThis closes #4
Alex Heneveld [Fri, 29 Aug 2014 23:20:24 +0000 (19:20 -0400)] 
This closes #4

Conflicts:
_layouts/base.html -- forward slash is needed as part of path (not part of heading url)

4 years agoThis closes #3
Alex Heneveld [Fri, 29 Aug 2014 23:19:24 +0000 (19:19 -0400)] 
This closes #3

4 years agoAdd second-level menu support 4/head
Richard Downer [Thu, 21 Aug 2014 16:27:47 +0000 (17:27 +0100)] 
Add second-level menu support

4 years agoDefine site structure in YAML front matter
Richard Downer [Thu, 21 Aug 2014 15:43:08 +0000 (16:43 +0100)] 
Define site structure in YAML front matter

Adds a site_structure plugin to parse this information, and modify base
template to use this when generating the navbar, instead of hardcoding.
navgroups now mostly automated (i.e. which tab is highlighted on each
page)

4 years agoRemove trailing slash from configured site.url
Richard Downer [Thu, 21 Aug 2014 15:41:10 +0000 (16:41 +0100)] 
Remove trailing slash from configured site.url

This is because in plugins/liquid templates, page.url includes a
*leading* slash

4 years agoFor external dependencies, href to "https://..."
Richard Downer [Wed, 20 Aug 2014 11:15:34 +0000 (12:15 +0100)] 
For external dependencies, href to "https://..."

Was previously "//..." - handy for compatibility with both http and
https referring pages, but breaks file://... referring pages (e.g.
building a preview). Always use https, as all our Apache websites are
https based.

4 years agoFor external dependencies, href to "https://..." 3/head
Richard Downer [Wed, 20 Aug 2014 11:15:34 +0000 (12:15 +0100)] 
For external dependencies, href to "https://..."

Was previously "//..." - handy for compatibility with both http and
https referring pages, but breaks file://... referring pages (e.g.
building a preview). Always use https, as all our Apache websites are
https based.

4 years agoMinor changes to page footers
Richard Downer [Wed, 20 Aug 2014 11:14:05 +0000 (12:14 +0100)] 
Minor changes to page footers

Adds 'Edit This Page' to the homepage. Uses CSStables rather than
floats. No change to actual content.

4 years agoJumbotron content update
Richard Downer [Wed, 20 Aug 2014 10:49:15 +0000 (11:49 +0100)] 
Jumbotron content update

4 years agoChange metadata system to fix broken links
Richard Downer [Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:12:08 +0000 (17:12 +0100)] 
Change metadata system to fix broken links

The metadata system ('include fields.md') copied over from the user
guide does not appear to work properly on the main website (most likely
due to the newer Jekyll version in use here). This is causing broken
links on the pages that use them - the quickstart guides. This commit
changes to using a Jekyll plugin to provide the metadata which works
more reliably (and is easier-to-understand code than trying to do it in
Liquid template language) and converts the quickstart guide to use this
new metadata. This fixes the broken links on the quickstart guides.

It also renames quickstart/my-web-cluster.yaml to be
_my-web-cluster.yaml to prevent the file being published; it contains
template variable substitutions so it's not suitable for direct use.

4 years agoMerge and close PR #2
Richard Downer [Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:59:01 +0000 (11:59 +0000)] 
Merge and close PR #2

4 years agoAdd README.md on building and publishing
Richard Downer [Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:58:36 +0000 (11:58 +0000)] 
Add README.md on building and publishing

4 years agoAdd build scripts
Richard Downer [Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:24:29 +0000 (11:24 +0000)] 
Add build scripts

4 years agoUpdate .gitignore
Richard Downer [Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:23:52 +0000 (11:23 +0000)] 
Update .gitignore

4 years agoAdd Gemfile with RVM config, and Gemfile.lock
Richard Downer [Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:23:42 +0000 (11:23 +0000)] 
Add Gemfile with RVM config, and Gemfile.lock

This will ensure a consistent environment for anybody who needs to get
started with the website generation.

4 years agoDelete brooklyn-logo-150px.png 2/head
Richard Downer [Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:35:48 +0000 (10:35 +0100)] 
Delete brooklyn-logo-150px.png

This has been replaced by newer "Apache Brooklyn" logos

4 years agoMerge PR #1
Richard Downer [Mon, 30 Jun 2014 09:06:36 +0000 (10:06 +0100)] 
Merge PR #1

4 years agoAdd community/how-to-contribute-docs.md
Richard Downer [Mon, 30 Jun 2014 09:02:50 +0000 (10:02 +0100)] 
Add community/how-to-contribute-docs.md

4 years agoAdd link to how-to-contribute-docs.html 1/head
Richard Downer [Mon, 30 Jun 2014 08:52:16 +0000 (09:52 +0100)] 
Add link to how-to-contribute-docs.html

This is also a test of the "Edit this page" button that I am adding. Please do not merge this PR yet as it depends on other commits.

4 years agoAdd "Edit this page" button
Richard Downer [Mon, 30 Jun 2014 08:17:16 +0000 (09:17 +0100)] 
Add "Edit this page" button

4 years agoAdd new Apache Brooklyn graphics
Richard Downer [Wed, 25 Jun 2014 15:45:15 +0000 (16:45 +0100)] 
Add new Apache Brooklyn graphics

4 years agoAdd .gitignore
Richard Downer [Wed, 25 Jun 2014 15:45:50 +0000 (16:45 +0100)] 
Add .gitignore

4 years agoCommitters guide - some fixes, simplification, and additional information
Richard Downer [Tue, 24 Jun 2014 09:33:42 +0000 (10:33 +0100)] 
Committers guide - some fixes, simplification, and additional information

4 years agoInitial website source
Richard Downer [Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:32:20 +0000 (17:32 +0100)] 
Initial website source