incubator-openwhisk-composer.git
3 days agoRename $resume parameter to $composer (#15) master
Olivier Tardieu [Fri, 7 Dec 2018 01:25:55 +0000 (20:25 -0500)] 
Rename $resume parameter to $composer (#15)

6 days agoadd disclaimer paragraph to bottom of README.md (#14)
David Grove [Tue, 4 Dec 2018 06:24:47 +0000 (01:24 -0500)] 
add disclaimer paragraph to bottom of README.md (#14)

12 days agoFix incorrect path handling in fsm synthesis (#12)
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 28 Nov 2018 19:06:55 +0000 (14:06 -0500)] 
Fix incorrect path handling in fsm synthesis (#12)

13 days agoPrefetch docker images (#11)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 27 Nov 2018 16:39:41 +0000 (11:39 -0500)] 
Prefetch docker images (#11)

2 weeks agoSkip OpenWhisk build in Travis (#10)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 26 Nov 2018 20:34:23 +0000 (15:34 -0500)] 
Skip OpenWhisk build in Travis (#10)

2 weeks agoFix openwhisk-composer module resolution in compose command (#9) 0.9.0
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 20 Nov 2018 18:30:57 +0000 (13:30 -0500)] 
Fix openwhisk-composer module resolution in compose command (#9)

3 weeks agoRename npm package to openwhisk-composer (#8)
Olivier Tardieu [Thu, 15 Nov 2018 18:19:43 +0000 (13:19 -0500)] 
Rename npm package to openwhisk-composer (#8)

6 weeks agoLICENSE to LICENSE.txt to match openwhisk conventions (#7)
David Grove [Tue, 23 Oct 2018 20:37:56 +0000 (16:37 -0400)] 
LICENSE to LICENSE.txt to match openwhisk conventions (#7)

7 weeks agoINCUBATOR-222 is resolved; can remove disclaimer (#6)
David Grove [Sat, 20 Oct 2018 22:18:43 +0000 (18:18 -0400)] 
INCUBATOR-222 is resolved; can remove disclaimer (#6)

2 months agoMention missing IP clearance (#5)
Bertrand Delacretaz [Tue, 9 Oct 2018 15:18:34 +0000 (17:18 +0200)] 
Mention missing IP clearance (#5)

2 months agoUpdate travis link in README (#4)
Olivier Tardieu [Fri, 5 Oct 2018 15:51:17 +0000 (11:51 -0400)] 
Update travis link in README (#4)

2 months agoScancode (#3)
David Grove [Fri, 5 Oct 2018 11:22:26 +0000 (07:22 -0400)] 
Scancode (#3)

* enable codescan in travis

2 months agomore boilerplate: fix DISCLAIMER; add CONTRIBUTING (#2)
David Grove [Thu, 4 Oct 2018 14:54:56 +0000 (10:54 -0400)] 
more boilerplate: fix DISCLAIMER; add CONTRIBUTING (#2)

2 months ago0.8.1
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 3 Oct 2018 14:43:47 +0000 (10:43 -0400)] 
0.8.1

2 months agoInclude fqn.js in npm package
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 3 Oct 2018 13:20:16 +0000 (09:20 -0400)] 
Include fqn.js in npm package

2 months agoImport fqn code
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 3 Oct 2018 13:16:46 +0000 (09:16 -0400)] 
Import fqn code

2 months ago0.8.0
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 2 Oct 2018 14:27:19 +0000 (10:27 -0400)] 
0.8.0

2 months agoUpdate composer version in demo.json
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 2 Oct 2018 14:07:58 +0000 (10:07 -0400)] 
Update composer version in demo.json

2 months agoUpdate description and keywords. Drop semver dependency.
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 2 Oct 2018 01:12:27 +0000 (21:12 -0400)] 
Update description and keywords. Drop semver dependency.

2 months agoremove IBM copyright; scancode fixes (license, trailing whitespace) (#67)
David Grove [Mon, 1 Oct 2018 22:49:35 +0000 (18:49 -0400)] 
remove IBM copyright; scancode fixes (license, trailing whitespace) (#67)

2 months agoPrepare composer for Apache handoff (#66)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 1 Oct 2018 21:32:46 +0000 (17:32 -0400)] 
Prepare composer for Apache handoff (#66)

* Prep work for new release

* Update setup.sh

* Update .gitignore

* Ignore certs in async invoke for now

* Replace uglify-es with terser

* Bump standard version to 12.0.1

* Delete outdated content. Update documentation.

2 months agoAlways recognize 401 and 403 status codes (#64)
Olivier Tardieu [Thu, 28 Jun 2018 03:05:48 +0000 (23:05 -0400)] 
Always recognize 401 and 403 status codes (#64)

2 months ago0.7.0
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 27 Jun 2018 15:33:40 +0000 (11:33 -0400)] 
0.7.0

2 months agov0.7 dev branch (#63)
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 27 Jun 2018 15:32:06 +0000 (11:32 -0400)] 
v0.7 dev branch (#63)

* Lower predeployment. Update plugin interface. Reuse composer module from composition
* Update composer.deploy schema. Update doc.

2 months ago0.6.1
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 19 Jun 2018 18:35:45 +0000 (14:35 -0400)] 
0.6.1

2 months agov0.6.1 dev branch (#61)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 19 Jun 2018 18:35:01 +0000 (14:35 -0400)] 
v0.6.1 dev branch (#61)

* Always invoke deserialize in compose command

* More validation of composition object

2 months ago0.6.0
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 19 Jun 2018 17:42:25 +0000 (13:42 -0400)] 
0.6.0

2 months agov0.6 dev branch (#60)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 19 Jun 2018 17:20:38 +0000 (13:20 -0400)] 
v0.6 dev branch (#60)

- composition files must now be modules (include require and exports statements)
- add composer.async combinator
- remove composer.composition combinator
- bug fixes

2 months agoAdd type for named compositions
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 23 May 2018 14:41:58 +0000 (10:41 -0400)] 
Add type for named compositions

2 months agoAdd new templates
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 23 May 2018 14:01:59 +0000 (10:01 -0400)] 
Add new templates

2 months ago0.5.2
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 22 May 2018 20:32:04 +0000 (16:32 -0400)] 
0.5.2

2 months agoLowering fix
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 22 May 2018 20:30:08 +0000 (16:30 -0400)] 
Lowering fix

2 months ago0.5.1
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 22 May 2018 20:19:31 +0000 (16:19 -0400)] 
0.5.1

2 months agoFix parsing of optional combinator arguments
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 22 May 2018 20:05:58 +0000 (16:05 -0400)] 
Fix parsing of optional combinator arguments

2 months ago0.5.0
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 22 May 2018 18:57:51 +0000 (14:57 -0400)] 
0.5.0

2 months agoBump mocha version
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 22 May 2018 17:04:15 +0000 (13:04 -0400)] 
Bump mocha version

2 months agoAdd initial support for composer plugins (#59)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 22 May 2018 16:56:52 +0000 (12:56 -0400)] 
Add initial support for composer plugins (#59)

* Add support for composer plugins

* Permit omitting any component of a plugin

2 months agoTweak
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 14 May 2018 18:28:12 +0000 (14:28 -0400)] 
Tweak

2 months agoAdd discussion of composition templates
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 14 May 2018 17:27:15 +0000 (13:27 -0400)] 
Add discussion of composition templates

2 months agoSupport composer.action('foo', { async: true }).
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 14 May 2018 13:50:56 +0000 (09:50 -0400)] 
Support composer.action('foo', { async: true }).
Support composer.composition(name, composition, { async: true }).
Fixes #5.

2 months agoA function may now return a promise
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 14 May 2018 13:12:55 +0000 (09:12 -0400)] 
A function may now return a promise

2 months agoAdd exit codes to compose command
Olivier Tardieu [Fri, 11 May 2018 20:24:07 +0000 (16:24 -0400)] 
Add exit codes to compose command

2 months agoFixes #56
Olivier Tardieu [Thu, 10 May 2018 14:34:24 +0000 (10:34 -0400)] 
Fixes #56

2 months agoFixes #58
Olivier Tardieu [Thu, 10 May 2018 14:14:11 +0000 (10:14 -0400)] 
Fixes #58

2 months agoFixes #57
Olivier Tardieu [Thu, 10 May 2018 13:41:24 +0000 (09:41 -0400)] 
Fixes #57

2 months ago0.4.0
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 23 Apr 2018 02:05:09 +0000 (22:05 -0400)] 
0.4.0

2 months agoV4 (#55)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 23 Apr 2018 01:57:48 +0000 (21:57 -0400)] 
V4 (#55)

- The composition json is now _just_ the AST with no implicit lowering.
- `composer.lower(composition, [combinators])` is now exposed and gives control over the lowering (if desired).
- The `compose` command has two new options: `--lower` and `--version`.
- The combinators are now automatically derived from spec, e.g, `if: { args: [{ _: 'test' }, { _: 'consequent' }, { _: 'alternate', optional: true }], since: '0.4.0' }`.
- The spec for the combinators is now exposed as well (`composer.combinators`).
- The core language has shrunk thanks to `composer.mask` and a more aggressive use of lowering.
- The fsm has fewer states.
- The code is now split into three components: 1 compiler component available client-side and server-side, 2 client-side composer, and 3 server-side conductor.

2 months agoBeautify generated action code (#53)
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 11 Apr 2018 17:40:51 +0000 (13:40 -0400)] 
Beautify generated action code (#53)

2 months ago0.3.0
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 11 Apr 2018 15:07:01 +0000 (11:07 -0400)] 
0.3.0

2 months agoFix typo in test
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 10 Apr 2018 12:41:23 +0000 (08:41 -0400)] 
Fix typo in test

2 months agoAdd mask combinator (#52)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 10 Apr 2018 12:27:45 +0000 (08:27 -0400)] 
Add mask combinator (#52)

* Add mask combinator

* Add composer.mask tests

2 months agoFurther document composer.literal and composer.let
Olivier Tardieu [Fri, 30 Mar 2018 14:15:50 +0000 (10:15 -0400)] 
Further document composer.literal and composer.let

2 months ago0.2.2
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 28 Mar 2018 17:39:28 +0000 (13:39 -0400)] 
0.2.2

2 months agoTweak tests
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 28 Mar 2018 17:24:44 +0000 (13:24 -0400)] 
Tweak tests

2 months agoFix typos
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 28 Mar 2018 17:24:33 +0000 (13:24 -0400)] 
Fix typos

2 months ago Add documentation and examples (#51)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 27 Mar 2018 23:28:33 +0000 (19:28 -0400)] 
 Add documentation and examples (#51)

2 months ago Move conductor action code example to a separate file (#50)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 26 Mar 2018 21:25:05 +0000 (17:25 -0400)] 
 Move conductor action code example to a separate file (#50)

2 months agoSupport defining actions from functions with names other than main (#49)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 26 Mar 2018 20:07:20 +0000 (16:07 -0400)] 
Support defining actions from functions with names other than main (#49)

2 months agoDocument compose command (#48)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 26 Mar 2018 19:38:44 +0000 (15:38 -0400)] 
Document compose command (#48)

2 months agoUpdate CLA receipient
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 26 Mar 2018 15:31:35 +0000 (11:31 -0400)] 
Update CLA receipient

2 months agoAdd feedback for compose --deploy command (#46)
Olivier Tardieu [Fri, 23 Mar 2018 20:38:18 +0000 (16:38 -0400)] 
Add feedback for compose --deploy command (#46)

2 months agoUpdate README.md
Olivier Tardieu [Fri, 23 Mar 2018 20:20:42 +0000 (16:20 -0400)] 
Update README.md

2 months ago0.2.1
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 20 Mar 2018 20:33:37 +0000 (16:33 -0400)] 
0.2.1

2 months agoAdd missing exit state to composer.try FSM (#44)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 20 Mar 2018 20:30:44 +0000 (16:30 -0400)] 
Add missing exit state to composer.try FSM (#44)

Fixes #43

2 months agoAdd .gitignore
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 20 Mar 2018 13:45:45 +0000 (09:45 -0400)] 
Add .gitignore

2 months ago0.2.0
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 20 Mar 2018 03:02:56 +0000 (23:02 -0400)] 
0.2.0

2 months agoReorganize docs (#42)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 20 Mar 2018 03:01:33 +0000 (23:01 -0400)] 
Reorganize docs (#42)

Move main tutorial to subfolder. Rename COMPOSER.md.

2 months agoDocumentation update (#41)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 19 Mar 2018 20:50:35 +0000 (16:50 -0400)] 
Documentation update (#41)

* Improve documentation

* Delete redis instructions

2 months agoFix typos
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 19 Mar 2018 16:45:45 +0000 (12:45 -0400)] 
Fix typos

2 months agoAdd instructions, examples, and resources to README (#40)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 19 Mar 2018 16:40:39 +0000 (12:40 -0400)] 
Add instructions, examples, and resources to README (#40)

* Add resources to README

* Add install and example sections to README.md

2 months agoupdate docs (#39)
kerryspchang [Fri, 16 Mar 2018 21:30:36 +0000 (17:30 -0400)] 
update docs (#39)

* Updated README.md, docs/README/md and many screenshots in docs/
Added a new tutorial docs/translateApp.md

* updated docs for composer v2

fixed typos

2 months agoAdd compose --encode option
Olivier Tardieu [Fri, 16 Mar 2018 17:38:14 +0000 (13:38 -0400)] 
Add compose --encode option

2 months agoCleaner eval
Olivier Tardieu [Fri, 16 Mar 2018 17:08:00 +0000 (13:08 -0400)] 
Cleaner eval

2 months agoFormatting
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 13 Mar 2018 16:37:40 +0000 (12:37 -0400)] 
Formatting

2 months agoAdd warning in outdated docs.
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 28 Feb 2018 01:20:15 +0000 (20:20 -0500)] 
Add warning in outdated docs.

2 months agoUse conductor actions to implement compositions (#37)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 27 Feb 2018 22:28:16 +0000 (17:28 -0500)] 
Use conductor actions to implement compositions (#37)

Composer now generates conductor actions to implement compositions. This resolves double billing and restores substitution. Compositions support blocking invocations and may be designated as web actions. Redis is no longer required to run compositions.


The JSON serialization format has evolved to retain the original code structure (sequences, conditionals...). The compilation to finite state machines now happens when the action container is initialized.


The scheduling code is now stitched to the composition JSON to produce a self-contained action that implements the composition, resolving possible versioning or dangling reference issues.

New constructs have been added including finally and dowhile.

A composition may now include the definition of component actions and compositions.


A compose shell script is provided to serialize compositions to the JSON format and deploy them. An extension of the Javascript client for OpenWhisk can do the same. Deployment takes care of nested actions and compositions.

The composer module now regroups the client-side and server-side code in one file.

2 months agoDeploy local openwhisk and redis for travis build (#36)
Olivier Tardieu [Tue, 27 Feb 2018 21:07:17 +0000 (16:07 -0500)] 
Deploy local openwhisk and redis for travis build (#36)

2 months agoCorrect app name.
Rodric Rabbah [Wed, 13 Dec 2017 17:09:46 +0000 (12:09 -0500)] 
Correct app name.

2 months agoTypo fix in README.md (#23)
TRAVIS ALLEN SALAS COX [Wed, 8 Nov 2017 01:46:36 +0000 (19:46 -0600)] 
Typo fix in README.md (#23)

2 months agoSupport for calling apps by name (#22)
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 1 Nov 2017 02:07:24 +0000 (22:07 -0400)] 
Support for calling apps by name (#22)

2 months agoSupport new openwhisk notification for action completion (#21)
Olivier Tardieu [Wed, 1 Nov 2017 01:04:37 +0000 (21:04 -0400)] 
Support new openwhisk notification for action completion (#21)

2 months agoAdd seq alias (#18)
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 16 Oct 2017 15:20:14 +0000 (11:20 -0400)] 
Add seq alias (#18)

2 months agoupdated hello-composition and hello-session figures to latest UI (#13)
Nick Mitchell [Tue, 10 Oct 2017 00:35:22 +0000 (20:35 -0400)] 
updated hello-composition and hello-session figures to latest UI (#13)

2 months agoDocumentation tweaks
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 9 Oct 2017 13:12:35 +0000 (09:12 -0400)] 
Documentation tweaks

2 months agoFix npm package namespace
Olivier Tardieu [Mon, 9 Oct 2017 12:52:58 +0000 (08:52 -0400)] 
Fix npm package namespace

2 months agoHow to contribute.
Rodric Rabbah [Sun, 8 Oct 2017 20:59:17 +0000 (16:59 -0400)] 
How to contribute.

2 months agoAdd slack badge.
Rodric Rabbah [Sun, 8 Oct 2017 19:24:34 +0000 (15:24 -0400)] 
Add slack badge.

2 months agoAdd CI and license badges (#4)
Olivier Tardieu [Sun, 8 Oct 2017 19:11:29 +0000 (15:11 -0400)] 
Add CI and license badges (#4)

2 months agoUpdate links. (#1)
rodric rabbah [Sun, 8 Oct 2017 19:03:02 +0000 (15:03 -0400)] 
Update links. (#1)

2 months agoInitial commit
Olivier Tardieu [Sun, 8 Oct 2017 18:09:02 +0000 (14:09 -0400)] 
Initial commit

2 months agoProject boilerplate files
David Grove [Wed, 3 Oct 2018 15:30:13 +0000 (11:30 -0400)] 
Project boilerplate files